Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Maloney takes maiden F3 win in Belgium

Zane Maloney. Credits: @trident_team (Twitter).

Zane Maloney won his first Formula 3 race the next day after a big crash he had in the Sprint Race.

Caio Collet stayed in the race lead after the start. Behind him, Zane Maloney passed Francesco Pizzi for P2. Maloney tried to overtake Collet at Les Combes but cut the chicane. Nevertheless, he got ahead of Collet.

Pizzi had to go through the gravel and lost a bunch of positions. The race went from bad to worse for the Charouz Racing System driver. He was hit by Kush Maini at the end of the opening lap. Victor Martins and Ido Cohen were also involved in the incident and they retired from the race.

Maloney was told to give the position back to Collet. However, it was Oliver Goethe who capitalized on the situation and took over the lead. The Safety Car was deployed.

The race was restarted on lap 6 of 18. Collet overtook Goethe at Les Combes. Moments later, Maloney moved up to P2. Goethe was out of the podium next lap.

Collet was given a 5-second time penalty for rejoining the track unsafely.

Gregoire Saucy’s race was over on lap 7. The ART GP driver had a collision with Josep Maria Marti and hit the barrier. The Safety Car was deployed again.

Maloney overtook Collet for the lead at Les Combes at the restart. Roman Stanek tried to pass the MP Motorsport driver at the same spot a lap later, but the attempt was not successful. Stanek overtook Collet for P2 on lap 14.

Sprint Race winner Oliver Bearman made an overtake on Jonny Edgar at La Source for the final top 5 spot.

Championship contenders Arthur Leclerc and Isack Hadjar had to charge through the field after a difficult qualifying. With 3 laps to go, Leclerc was 13th, while Hadjar was in P16. In the end, neither of them finished in the top 10.

Maloney won the Feature Race. Stanek crossed the finish line in P2. Bearman completed the podium following Collet’s penalty.

The top 10 of the Formula 3 Feature Race in Belgium:

1Zane MaloneyTrident45:33.153
2Roman StanekTrident+1.046
3Oliver BearmanPREMA Racing+5.684
4Oliver GoetheCampos Racing+6.737
5Jonny EdgarTrident+7.433
6Caio ColletMP Motorsport+9.297
7David VidalesCampos Racing+10.831
8William AlataloJenzer Motorsport+10.879
9Alexander SmolyarMP Motorsport+11.665
10Reece UshijimaVan Amersfoort Racing+13.360

You May Also Like


Dutch player Wout Weghorst called Argentine Lionel Messi’s attitude “really disappointing” following their quarter-final match of the FIFA World Cup. Argentina eliminated the Netherlands...


The Argentina national team took five penalties throughout the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. This is the most penalty kicks a team was awarded...


Al Hilm will be present in the last three matches of the World Cup and only Argentina, Croatia, Morocco, and France will have the...


Brazil and Croatia are going to extra time after a draw of the two halves of their match at the FIFA World Cup in...