Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Smolyar takes lights-to-flag win in F3 Hungary Feature Race

BUDAPEST, HUNGARY - JULY 29: Alexander Smolyar of MP Motorsport (11) drives on track during practice ahead of Round 6:Budapest of the Formula 3 Championship at Hungaroring on July 29, 2022 in Budapest, Hungary. (Photo by Rudy Carezzevoli - Formula 1/Formula Motorsport Limited via Getty Images).

Alexander Smolyar led from start to finish to win the Formula 3 Feature Race at the Hungaroring.

The Feature Race took place in wet conditions like the Sprint Race a day before. However, it began with a standing start.

Alexander Smolyar remained in front after turn 1. He was under pressure from Zane Maloney and Oliver Bearman but stayed ahead of them.

Reece Ushijima, who lost P2 in qualifying due to track limits and had to start the race from 19th place, got to the top 10 by the end of the opening lap. He tried to overtake David Vidales but went off the track at turn 7 and was passed by Arthur Leclerc.

Smolyar was pulling away from Maloney. Almost 5 seconds separated the top 2 on lap 5. Bearman was right behind the Trident driver, trying to get to P2.

Ushijima was chasing Vidales in an attempt to return to the top 10. Roman Stanek caught them, making it a 3-way battle. He capitalized on Ushijima’s wide run at turn 2 on lap 13 and got to 11th place. Stanek got ahead of Vidales on lap 16, though he left the track. He gave the position back shortly after.

Francesco Pizzi was the first driver to get slicks on lap 15. Juan Manuel Correa also made the switch.

Leclerc overtook Caio Collet and Gregoire Saucy and moved up to 7th place. Later on, he passed Victor Martins for P6.

Smolyar was out of reach for his opponents and won the race. Maloney held off Bearman at the finish line to end the race in P2.

Slicks proved to be effective on the final laps as Zak O’Sullivan and Correa were 4th and 6th respectively.

The top 10 of the Formula 3 Feature Race in Hungary:

1Alexander SmolyarMP Motorsport45:02.423
2Zane MaloneyTrident+5.560
3Oliver BearmanPREMA Racing+5.585
4Zak O’SullivanCarlin+7.316
5Jak CrawfordPREMA Racing+8.705
6Juan Manuel CorreaART GP+10.059
7Kush MainiMP Motorsport+10.578
8Arthur LeclercPREMA Racing+10.983
9Caio ColletMP Motorsport+19.452
10Victor MartinsART GP+19.614

You May Also Like


Dutch player Wout Weghorst called Argentine Lionel Messi’s attitude “really disappointing” following their quarter-final match of the FIFA World Cup. Argentina eliminated the Netherlands...


The Argentina national team took five penalties throughout the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. This is the most penalty kicks a team was awarded...


Al Hilm will be present in the last three matches of the World Cup and only Argentina, Croatia, Morocco, and France will have the...


Brazil and Croatia are going to extra time after a draw of the two halves of their match at the FIFA World Cup in...