Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Pourchaire triumphs in F2 Hungary Feature Race

Theo Pourchaire in France. Credits: Dutch Photo Agency.

Theo Pourchaire won the Formula 2 Feature Race in Hungary and closed down the gap to Felipe Drugovich in the championship.

Marcus Armstrong had a good getaway that allowed him to take over the race lead at the start. Theo Pourchaire and Ayumu Iwasa were behind.

The race did not begin well for the Sprint Race winner Jack Doohan. The Virtuosi Racing driver was going slowly and eventually went to the pits to retire. Frederik Vesti was given a five-second time penalty for forcing Juri Vips off the track.

Felipe Drugovich was the first driver among the leaders to get rid of Soft tires on lap 8. The top 3 drivers had to respond and pitted a lap later. Armstrong was passed by both Pourchaire and Iwasa.

Enzo Fittipaldi inherited the lead and made his pit stop on lap 11. He rejoined the track right in front of Pourchaire, but the Frenchman made an overtake quickly. Nevertheless, the Charouz Racing System driver was ahead of Iwasa, Drugovich, and Armstrong.

Clement Novalak was given a five-second time penalty for leaving the track and gaining an advantage.

Pourchaire took the actual race lead on lap 29 after Liam Lawson, who was the last driver ahead yet to make a pit stop, changed his tires.

It began raining in the closing stages of the race, but it was not heavy enough to make drivers switch to Wet tires.

Drugovich was suffering from tire degradation on the final laps. The championship leader risked missing out on points. Armstrong also struggled, he had dropped down to P6.

Pourchaire won the race and got closer to Drugovich in the championship. Fittipaldi had a slow final lap, but managed to end the race in P2. Iwasa completed the podium.

The top 10 of the Formula 2 Feature Race in Hungary:

1Theo PourchaireART GPWinner
2Enzo FittipaldiCharouz Racing System+3.6
3Ayumu IwasaDAMS+5.9
4Frederik VestiART GP+6.7
5Juri VipsHitech GP+9.6
6Marcus ArmstrongHitech GP+13.5
7Liam LawsonCarlin+14.7
8Richard VerschoorTrident+20.1
9Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport+28.6
10Logan SargeantCarlin+29.2

You May Also Like


Dutch player Wout Weghorst called Argentine Lionel Messi’s attitude “really disappointing” following their quarter-final match of the FIFA World Cup. Argentina eliminated the Netherlands...


The Argentina national team took five penalties throughout the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. This is the most penalty kicks a team was awarded...


Al Hilm will be present in the last three matches of the World Cup and only Argentina, Croatia, Morocco, and France will have the...


With the 2021 Formula 1 season underway, we have been witnessing a lot of talks about the effect that the aero regulation changes have...