Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Vesti wins dramatic F2 Sprint Race in Baku

ART Grand Prix’s Frederik Vesti has won the opening Formula 2 race of the weekend in Baku.

Saturday’s racing action in Baku started with F2 Sprint Race.

Frederik Vesti had a good getaway and took over the lead at turn 1. However, Jehan Daruvala became the new leader shortly after. The ART GP driver was also passed by polesitter Jake Hughes.

Daruvala was over a second ahead of Hughes, who was put pressure on by Vesti. Other drivers caught up with them and joined the battle for P2.

Vesti passed Hughes on lap 6. The Dane lost a lot of time though as Daruvala was almost 4 seconds in front. Hughes kept losing positions after that.

Juri Vips, Theo Pourchaire, and Dennis Hauger were fighting for the final points spot in the second half of the race. Hauger tried to pass Pourchaire, but had a lock-up and hit the wall. Safety Car was deployed. It was a big hit for Daruvala, who had a comfortable lead.

The race was restarted with 5 laps to go. Daruvala remained in the lead, ahead of Vesti and Verschoor. Sargeant locked his tires up and was down to P5. Behind them, Vips had to go off the track after Enzo Fittipaldi missed the corner in front of him and hit the wall. Safety Car was deployed again.

Olli Caldwell had to change the front wing after a collision with Cem Bolukbasi ahead of lap 17 restart.

Drivers had 3 laps before the checkered flag before the restart. Daruvala had a lock-up at turn 1. Vesti capitalized on it and made a pass. Verschoor tried to overtake the PREMA Racing driver as well, but failed to do so.

Moments later, Verschoor had to defend from Lawson, but hit the wall, forcing Safety Car to return on the race track.

Safety Car left the track on the final lap. Vesti saved the lead at the restart. Despite an incident in turn 1, drivers were allowed to race.

Vesti went on to get his maiden F2 victory. Daruvala was second, while Lawson completed the podium.

The top 10 of Formula 2 Sprint Race in Baku:

1Frederik VestiART GPWinner
2Jehan DaruvalaPREMA Racing+0.3
3Liam LawsonCarlin+1.1
4Marcus ArmstrongHitech GP+1.5
5Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport+1.7
6Logan SargeantCarlin+2.1
7Theo PourchaireART GP+2.6
8Ayumu IwasaDAMS+3.2
9Jake HughesVan Amersfoort Racing+5.4
10Roy NissanyDAMS+7.3
Related Posts