Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Drugovich wins F2 Feature Race in Spain

Felipe Drugovich. Credits: @Formula2 (Twitter).

Felipe Drugovich has swept both Formula 2 races in Barcelona, though he is currently under investigation.

After Formula 3 Feature Race, Formula 2 continued racing action at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on Sunday.

Jack Doohan remained in front at the start, while Frederik Vesti passed Juri Vips for P2. Dennis Hauger and Olli Caldwell had a collision at the turn 14-15 chicane. Hauger was given a 5-second time penalty.

Jehan Daruvala was on alternative strategy, having started the race on Hard tires. However, his race was over on lap 4. The car suddenly stopped in the middle of the track and Safety Car had to be deployed. Daruvala began slowing down in front of Ayumu Iwasa. The DAMS driver was not able to react and hit the car, damaging the front wing.

Vips went for his mandatory pit stop on lap 8. It was not quick and the Estonian driver let Jake Hughes pass at the pit lane. Furthermore, Vips kept losing positions.

Doohan was in front of Vesti and Logan Sargeant after pit stops. However, Felipe Drugovich had a significantly longer stint on Softs. The MP Motorsport driver changed the tires on lap 18. He rejoined the track behind Vesti. Later on, the Brazilian overtook him.

The stewards decided to investigate alleged infringements during pit stops of Drugovich, Vesti, and Theo Pourchaire after the race.

Doohan came back to the race lead after overtaking Marcus Armstrong. Meanwhile, Drugovich kept closing the gap to the Virtuosi Racing driver. The Brazilian had tire advantage and took over the lead on lap 27. The team asked him to make as much gap as possible amid the stewards’ investigation.

Drugovich managed to make a 5.6-second advantage over Doohan and crossed the finish line first after starting tenth. Vesti completed the podium.

The top 10 of Formula 2 Feature Race in Spain:

1Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport1:02:14.874
2Jack DoohanVirtuosi Racing+5.630
3Frederik VestiART GP+23.169
4Logan SargeantCarlin+24.720
5Clement NovalakMP Motorsport+25.060
6Enzo FittipaldiCharouz Racing System+31.430
7Marcus ArmstrongHitech GP+32.199
8Theo PourchaireART GP+35.607
9Liam LawsonCarlin+37.174
10Roy NissanyDAMS+37.275
Related Posts