Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Vidales wins F3 Sprint Race in Spain

David Vidales has won the opening Formula 3 race of the weekend in Barcelona, though he is currently under investigation.

Vidales started the race from pole position after Zane Maloney had been given a penalty for missing the weighbridge during qualifying.

Vidales remained in the lead at the start, while Juan Manuel Correa and Jak Crawford were following him in the top 3. The race did not start well for Hunter Yeany. The front wing of his car got damaged and he was forced to go to the pits to replace it.

Upfront, Vidales built a 1.5 second gap from his opponents. Crawford passed Correa for P2 on the main straight.

Trouble struck one of championship leaders Victor Martins. The ART GP driver suddenly started going slowly. He went to the pits and retired.

Engine cover started coming off Franco Colapinto’s car. On lap 9, it had completely come off. The Van Amersfoort Racing driver was given a black-and-orange flag and then he retired from the race.

Meanwhile, Crawford was right behind Vidales with 10 laps to go. The PREMA Racing driver began putting pressure straightaway. On lap 12, Crawford tried to make a pass at turns 1 and 2. He was forced to go off-track and ran over a sausage curb. The incident would be investigated by the stewards after the race.

Behind them, Caio Collet overtook Kaylen Frederick to get to P4. Alexander Smolyar also passed the Hitech GP driver later on.

Correa’s podium finish was under threat as a group of drivers caught him. Collet passed him for P3 on lap 18. A lap later, Smolyar was trying to overtake Correa as well, but had to go off-track. Arthur Leclerc capitalized on it – he passed Smolyar first and then Correa on the final lap.

Vidales remained ahead of Crawford and took the checkered flag. Collet completed the podium.

The top 10 of Formula 3 Sprint Race in Spain:

1David VidalesCampos RacingWinner
2Jak CrawfordPREMA Racing+1.2
3Caio ColletMP Motorsport+6.4
4Arthur LeclercPREMA Racing+9.0
5Juan Manuel CorreaART GP+10.3
6Alexander SmolyarMP Motorsport+11.2
7Kaylen FrederickHitech GP+11.8
8Roman StanekTrident+12.3
9Reece UshijimaVan Amersfoort Racing+15.2
10Isack HadjarHitech GP+16.0
Related Posts