Liam Lawson is the winner of the Formula 2 Sprint Race at the Jeddah Corniche Circuit.

The starting grid had some changes – Jack Doohan, who was 3rd in qualifying, was disqualified and sent to the back of the grid. Dennis Hauger was promoted to the 10th place and got the reverse grid pole. Juri Vips, Clement Novalak, Frederik Vesti, Amaury Cordeel, and Oliver Caldwell had grid penalties.

Hauger remained in front after the start, while Calan Williams and Ayumu Iwasa overtook Jake Hughes, who had a bad getaway. However, Hughes passed Iwasa for P3 by the end of the opening lap.

The Safety Car was deployed on lap 2 after Cordeel’s crash.

The race was resumed on lap 7. However, the Safety Car came back on the track after a collision between Doohan and Logan Sargeant close to the pit lane entry.

The cars were initially required to go through the pit lane, but shortly after, it was closed. Hauger, though, entered the pit lane and dropped down to 12th. He was given a 10-second stop/go penalty. Williams inherited the lead.

The track was cleared up and the race was restarted once again on lap 14. Hughes took over the race lead as he passed Williams in turn 2. Liam Lawson also overtook the Trident driver and got to P2.

Hughes managed to get away from his opponents thanks to the tire advantage. Behind him, Vips overtook Williams to claim P3.

Eventually, Hughes lost his pace and Lawson started putting pressure on him. With 3 laps to go in the race, the Carlin driver got to the lead.

Marcus Armstrong spun in sector 2 and stalled. The Virtual Safety Car was deployed on the penultimate lap. The green flag was back on the final lap.

Lawson went on to win the race. Vips overtook Hughes in the final meters to finish 2nd.

The top 10 of the Formula 2 Sprint Race in Saudi Arabia:

1Liam LawsonCarlin47:55.487
2Juri VipsHitech GP+3.166
3Jake HughesVan Amersfoort Racing+3.224
4Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport+4.846
5Calan WilliamsTrident+6.277
6Richard VerschoorTrident+12.121
7Ayumu IwasaDAMS+13.520
8Ralph BoschungCampos Racing+14.454
9Jehan DaruvalaPREMA Racing+15.237
10Marino SatoVirtuosi Racing+16.040

Hi everyone! My name is Anton, I am 19 years old and I am an aspiring motorsports journalist. I love motorsports for those emotions and excitement it brings.