Sam Sunderland has won the 2022 Dakar Rally in the bikes category, while Nasser Al-Attiyah succeeded in the cars.

The most important day of the Dakar Rally arrived. The competitors had to cover the final 164 kilometers of the special stage in the event.

Ahead of the final stage nothing was certain in the bikes category as Sam Sunderland, Pablo Quintanilla, and Matthias Walkner were in title contention. Sunderland had a slight disadvantage as he had to open the way for his rivals.

Quintanilla got the lead at the first waypoint, ahead of Toby Price and Joan Barreda Bort. Sunderland was 9th, while Walkner was 20th. The Honda rider kept leading at the next checkpoint as well, but Ricky Brabec overtook him on km 120.

Quintanilla had a great pace at the final kilometers and was 5 seconds ahead of Brabec at the finish to win the stage. Brabec was initially 2nd, but got a 12-minute penalty that dropped him down to P26. Toby Price and Nacho Cornejo completed the top 3 of the stage.

Walkner made a recovery and finished 7th. Sam Sunderland was 8th and lost 3 minutes and 25 seconds to Quintanilla and 28 seconds to Walkner. That was enough for the GasGas rider to stay in the overall lead and win the 2022 Dakar Rally in the bikes class. It is Sunderland’s second title.

The top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally stage 12 in the bikes category:

1Pablo QuintanillaMonster Energy Honda1:40:00
2Toby PriceRed Bull KTM Factory Racing+0:18
3Nacho CornejoMonster Energy Honda+0:29
4Joan Barreda BortMonster Energy Honda+1:13
5Mason KleinBas World KTM Racing+1:23

The overall top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally in the bikes category:

1Sam SunderlandGasGas Factory Racing38:47:30
2Pablo QuintanillaMonster Energy Honda+3:27
3Matthias WalknerRed Bull KTM Factory Racing+6:47
4Adrien Van BeverenMonster Energy Yamaha Rally Team+18:41
5Joan Barreda BortMonster Energy Honda+25:42

Sebastien Loeb had a difficult task in stage 12. He needed to be 33 minutes and 20 seconds ahead of Nasser Al-Attiyah to win the Dakar Rally in the cars category.

Loeb had an advantage over Al-Attiyah at the first waypoint, while Stephane Peterhansel was in the lead. Peterhansel kept leading at km 81, while Loeb increased the gap from Al-Attiyah.

At the final waypoint before the finish, Loeb was 4 minutes and 3 seconds ahead of Al-Attiyah, which was still not enough for the victory.

Though Peterhansel initially led the stage, Henk Lategan, who started the stage 25th, went on to set the quickest time of the day. Peterhansel was 2nd, 49 seconds behind, while Brian Baragwanath ended the special 3rd.

Al-Attiyah was 19th, 5 minutes and 33 seconds away from Loeb’s time. It allowed the Toyota Gazoo Racing driver to stay in front of the general standings and win his 4th Dakar Rally.

The top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally stage 12 in the cars category:

1Henk LateganToyota Gazoo Racing1:35:19
2Stephane PeterhanselTeam Audi Sport+0:49
3Brian BaragwanathCentury Racing+1:51
4Sebastien LoebBahrain Raid Xtreme+2:20
5Vaidotas ZalaTeltonika Racing+3:25

The overall top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally in the cars category:

1Nasser Al-AttiyahToyota Gazoo Racing38:33:03
2Sebastien LoebBahrain Raid Xtreme+27:46
3Yazeed Al-RajhiOverdrive Toyota+1:01:13
4Orlando TerranovaBahrain Raid Xtreme+1:27:23
5Giniel de VilliersToyota Gazoo Racing+1:41:48

Hi everyone! My name is Anton, I am 19 years old and I am an aspiring motorsports journalist. I love motorsports for those emotions and excitement it brings.