Seth Quintero, Marek Goczal, and Andrey Karginov win stage 6 of the 2022 Dakar Rally in their respective categories.

After the stage 5 neutralization, the quads continued their competition at Dakar on Friday. However, their special stage had to be shortened again. The Dakar Rally organizers announced that it was impossible to continue the stage after km 101 due to deteriorated tracks.

The results will be declared at km 101. At the moment, there are no official results of the stage. ASN will provide an update as soon as the classification is published.

Seth Quintero was unstoppable again in the LW prototypes category. Though the Red Bull Off-Road Junior Team USA driver gave up the lead at the first waypoint to Cristina Gutierrez Herrero, he was unreachable at the others.

Though he is not in contention for the overall victory, the American has a chance to beat the record for most stage wins in one edition of the Dakar Rally, currently held by Pierre Lartigue, who won 10 stages back in 1994.

Gutierrez Herrero lost almost 10 minutes in the final stretch but managed to finish second, while Francisco Lopez Contardo completed the top 3 and increased his lead in the overall rankings ahead of the rest day.

The top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally stage 6 in the LW prototypes category:

1Seth QuinteroRed Bull Off-Road Junior Team USA3:27:23
2Cristina Gutierrez HerreroRed Bull Off-Road Team USA+11:21
3Francisco Lopez ContardoEKS – South Racing+13:25
4Sebastian ErikssonEKS – South Racing+14:18
5Pavel LebedevMSK Rally Team+14:39

The overall top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally in the LW prototypes category:

1Francisco Lopez ContardoEKS – South Racing24:19:17
2Sebastian ErikssonEKS – South Racing+23:09
3Cristina Gutierrez HerreroRed Bull Off-Road Team USA+2:20:16
4Fernando AlvarezSouth Racing Can-Am+2:25:22
5Philippe PinchedezPinch Racing+2:30:24

The competition was very close in the SSVs category. After the first four waypoints, 5 minutes separated the top 9. Marek Goczal was quicker than anyone else at any of these waypoints, but his opponents surely wanted to challenge him.

However, Marek Goczal remained in front and won the stage without any big issues. Rodrigo Luppi de Oliveira showed consistent pace once again and finished second to end the first half of the competition as a category leader. Sergey Kariakin had an outstanding performance as he reached the destination with the third best time.

The top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally stage 6 in the SSVs category:

1Marek GoczalCobant-Energylandia Rally Team3:39:24
2Rodrigo Luppi de OliveiraSouth Racing Can-Am+3:04
3Sergey KariakinSnag Racing Team+3:06
4Rokas BaciuskaSouth Racing Can-Am+4:30
5Austin JonesCan-Am Factory South Racing+5:33

The overall top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally in the SSVs category:

1Rodrigo Luppi de OliveiraSouth Racing Can-Am25:04:01
2Austin JonesCan-Am Factory South Racing+6:56
3Michal GoczalCobant-Energylandia Rally Team+28:06
4Gerard Farres GuellCan-Am Factory South Racing+29:08
5Rokas BaciuskaSouth Racing Can-Am+46:26

There were no big surprises in the trucks class as the Kamaz-Master drivers were dominant again. Andrey Karginov and Dmitry Sotnikov got the top 2 spots and were exchanging them throughout the waypoints. Eduard Nikolaev followed them in P3.

Anton Shibalov lost time from the start and was around 5th – 7th place. Later on, he dropped down to 13th. Martin van den Brink and Ales Loprais were the favorites for the final top 5 spots, while Gert Huzink and Maurik van den Heuvel chased them.

Karginov remained the leader throughout all waypoints and went on to win the stage. However, Sotnikov in P2 was very close – only 9 seconds separated the top 2. Eduard Nikolaev was third, also less than a minute away from Karginov. Shibalov picked up the pace at the end, but it was not enough to overtake Loprais and van den Brink, who grabbed the remaining top 5 spots.

The top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally stage 6 in the trucks category:

1Andrey KarginovKamaz – Master3:16:16
2Dmitry SotnikovKamaz – Master+0:09
3Eduard NikolaevKamaz – Master+0:45
4Ales LopraisInstaforex Loprais Praga+5:16
5Martin van den BrinkMammoet Rallysport Team de Rooy IVECO+5:35

The overall top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally in the trucks category:

1Dmitry SotnikovKamaz – Master22:25:45
2Eduard NikolaevKamaz – Master+10:29
3Anton ShibalovKamaz – Master+38:17
4Janus van KasterenPetronas Team de Rooy IVECO+1:04:54
5Ales LopraisInstaforex Loprais Praga+1:06:20

Hi everyone! My name is Anton, I am 19 years old and I am an aspiring motorsports journalist. I love motorsports for those emotions and excitement it brings.