Toby Price and Henk Lategan took home the stage 5 victory at the 2022 Dakar Rally in the bikes and cars categories.

Stage 5 was opened by Joan Barreda Bort, who won the previous stage. He was followed by Pablo Quintanilla, Rui Gonçalves and Lorenzo Santolino. The overall leader, Sam Sunderland, started sixth.

After 41 kilometers, the field’s order was pretty much different. In fact, the riders that started from the back were leading. Daniel Sanders was in P1, 4 seconds ahead of Toby Price and Kevin Benavides. Then, Skyler Howes, Mason Klein, Ross Branch, Ricky Brabec, Nacho Cornejo, and Danilo Petrucci were in the hunt.

At km 81, there was another change in the lead as Benavides overtook Price. After 157 kilometers, Sanders was the leader, with a gap of 1 minute 10 seconds to Price. Howes was third not too far back, while Benavides fell back to P4.

After 259 kilometers, Sanders was still leading ahead of Benavides by 2 minutes 9 seconds. Price was third, almost 4 minutes behind. At km 310, Sanders lost all his advantage and even more, dropping down to P17, 13 minutes behind the leader. Price became the new leader ahead of Petrucci, Cornejo, Brabec, and Branch.

In the end, Price claimed the victory in stage 5. Petrucci performed well today as well, finishing second. Ross Branch was third, with Cornejo and Brabec behind.

The top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally stage 5 in the bikes category:

1Toby PriceRed Bull KTM Factory Racing3:19:32
2Danilo PetrucciTech 3 KTM Factory Racing+4:14
3Ross BranchMonster Energy Yamaha Rally Team+4:16
4Jose Ignacio Cornejo FlorimoMonster Energy Honda+4:19
5Ricky BrabecMonster Energy Honda+5:46

The overall top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally in the bikes category:

1Sam SunderlandGasGas Factory Racing19:01:50
2Matthias WalknerRed Bull KTM Factory Racing+2:29
3Adrien Van BeverenMonster Energy Yamaha Rally Team+5:59
4Daniel SandersGasGas Factory Racing+8:01
5Skyler HowesHusqvarna Factory Racing+13:36

In the cars category, Nasser Al-Attiyah had to open the way for stage 5. Behind him were Sebastien Loeb and Carlos Sainz.

At the first checkpoint, Yasir Seaidan was leading. Henk Lategan was just 1 second behind, Sainz was third, while Al-Attiyah had already lost 1 minute.

At the second checkpoint, Seaidan lost a lot of time. That allowed Lategan to become the new leader. Stephane Peterhansel was in second and Mattias Ekstrom in third. Al-Attiyah lost another 2 minutes.

After 159 kilometers, Peterhansel stole the lead from Lategan by 26 seconds. Ekstrom was still in P3. Al-Attiyah kept losing time, and the gap to the leader was 7 minutes.

After 201 kilometers, Carlos Sainz was at a standstill. The Spaniard was trying to understand what the problem was, and Peterhansel stopped to help his teammate. In the meantime, Al-Attiyah and Loeb were battling through the dunes of the desert.

Since Peterhansel stopped to help Sainz, Lategan regained the lead at km 198. Ekstrom was just 1 second behind, while the third position was occupied by Matthieu Serradori.

Sainz restarted the race thanks to Peterhansel, who gave him his suspension. However, it was Stephane who could not continue the race. Despite that, Peterhansel preferred to help his teammate since he is no longer in the title’s contention.

At km 300, Lategan extended his lead by 1 minute 30 seconds. Lucio Alvarez was second, and Serradori third. Al-Attiyah was still 7 minutes behind.

Al-Attiyah and Loeb reached the finish line of stage 5. The latter gained 2 minutes 55 seconds over his Qatari rival in the general standings.

In the end, Henk Lategan was the winner of stage 5 in the cars category. His gap to Loeb, in P2, was 1 minute 58 seconds. Lucio Alvarez completed the top-three.

The top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally stage 5 in the cars category:

1Henk LateganToyota Gazoo Racing3:53:28
2Sebastien LoebBahrain Raid Xtreme+1:58
3Lucio AlvarezOverdrive Toyota+2:10
4 Matthieu Serradori SRT Racing+2:24
5Guerlain ChicheritGCK Motorsport+2:59

The overall top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally in the cars category:

1Nasser Al-Attiyah Toyota Gazoo Racing 17:24:23
2Sebastien Loeb Bahrain Raid Xtreme +35:10
3Lucio Alvarez Overdrive Toyota +51:15
4Yazeed Al-Rajhi Overdrive Toyota +1:06:23
5Vladimir VasilyevVRT Team+1:07:52

I am an Italian guy. I love Motorsport because of the emotions that it gives me and I grew up watching races. That's what I love!