Joan Barreda Bort and Nasser Al-Attiyah took home the stage 4 win at the 2022 Dakar Rally in the bikes and cars.

Stage 4 in the bikes category was opened by Joaquim Rodrigues, who just won his first Dakar stage yesterday. At the first checkpoint, Danilo Petrucci was the leader. Even though he received a huge time penalty, the Italian decided to keep racing and has shown great pace.

Petrucci was leading ahead of Joan Barreda Bort by 20 seconds, and the gap to Pablo Quintanilla in third was 52 seconds.

Petrucci led the way at the second checkpoint too. Barreda Bort and Quintanilla were still on the hunt not too far back. However, at km 120, Barreda was less than 20 seconds behind the Italian and was gaining terrain.

At km 158, Joan Barreda overtook Petrucci and stole the lead of stage 4. Quintanilla was still third, with Lorenzo Santolino in fourth and Sam Sunderland fifth.

After almost 200 km, Barreda Bort managed to amplify the gap to P2, bringing it to 44 seconds. At km 313, the gap between P1 and P2 widened even more, and it became 3 minutes 33 seconds. Petrucci was still second, and Quintanilla third. Meanwhile, Daniel Sanders was struggling at over 12 minutes behind Barreda.

At km 358, Barreda Bort was comfortably in the lead ahead of Quintanilla and Petrucci, second and third, respectively. Meanwhile, Santolino and Rui Gonรงalves were only 2 minutes behind the podium.

Joan Barreda grabbed his second win of the year. Pablo Quintanilla kept P2, while Petrucci took his first podium at Dakar, finishing third. The top-five was completed by Gonรงalves and Lorenzo Santolino. The two Sherco TVS riders did an amazing job on today’s stage.

UPD: Petrucci was given a 10-minute penalty that dropped him down to the 15th place.

The updated top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally stage 4 in the bikes category:

1Joan Barreda BortMonster Energy Honda4:06:06
2Pablo QuintanillaMonster Energy Honda+3:37
3Rui GoncalvesSherco TVS Rally Factory+6:59
4Lorenzo Santolino Sherco TVS Rally Factory+7:56
5Luciano Benavides Husqvarna Factory Racing+8:55

The overall top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally in the bikes category:

1Sam SunderlandGasGas Factory Racing15:30:01
2Matthias WalknerRed Bull KTM Factory+3:00
3Adrien Van BeverenMonster Energy Yamaha Rally Team+4:54
4Lorenzo Santolino Sherco TVS Rally Factory +10:28
5Pablo Quintanilla Monster Energy Honda +11:13

Carlos Sainz opened stage 4 for the cars. Not long after the start, Stephane Peterhansel stopped his car and could not restart, meaning he lost plenty of time.

Peterhansel was not the only one who was in trouble. Nani Roma stopped his car at km 80. He was trying to understand what the problem was, but he was not able to.

Meanwhile, Peterhansel was still stranded at km 89, waiting for the support crew as his shock absorber was broken, as well as the radiator and the fan.

The drivers that were able to continue the race reached the second checkpoint. Henk Lategan was leading with a 40-second gap to Nasser Al-Attiyah. Yassir Seaidan was third, while Sainz was 1 minute 47 seconds behind the leader. Meanwhile, Sebastien Loeb was on the hunt trying to recover the time lost in stage 3.

The drama never stops at the Dakar Rally – Lategan was leading by 2 minutes and 30 seconds over Al-Attiyah, but after suffering a problem with his rear right tire, he was forced to stop. The former leader had to wait for the support crew, meaning Carlos Sainz would take the lead at the seventh checkpoint.

Sainz was the first to finish the stage, but in the end, Nasser Al-Attiyah took the win of stage 4, ahead of Al-Rajhi (who won but received a penalty and ended up in P5) and Sebastian Loeb, who managed to step on the podium with Carlos Sainz.

The top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally stage 4 in the cars category:

1 Nasser Al-Attiyah Toyota Gazoo Racing3:54:26
2Sebastien LoebBahrain Raid Xtreme+0:25
3 Carlos Sainz Team Audi Sport +0:52
4Yasir Seaidan X-Raid Mini JCW Team +1:34
5Yazeed Al-RajhiOverdrive Toyota+1:46

The overall top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally in the cars category:

1 Nasser Al-Attiyah Toyota Gazoo Racing 13:26:02
2 Sebastien Loeb Bahrain Raid Xtreme +38:05
3 Yazeed Al-Rajhi Overdrive Toyota +49:15
4Giniel De VilliersToyota Gazoo Racing+49:17
5Lucio AlvarezOverdrive Toyota+53:58

I am an Italian guy. I love Motorsport because of the emotions that it gives me and I grew up watching races. That's what I love!