Daniel Sanders and Nasser Al-Attiyah are still on top of the standings after stage 1B of the Dakar Rally in bikes and cars respectively.

Just like stage 1A that opened the 2022 edition of the Dakar Rally, stage 1B features a lot of sand. Plus, this stage starts in Ha’il, and after a total of 514 kilometers, it finishes in the same city. Moreover, 333 of these are the special stage.

After winning stage 1A, Daniel Sanders could choose the position in which to start today. He opted to initiate today’s stage from the back, so he did not have to open the way for all the other riders, and he also wanted to avoid navigation issues.

Sanders was the fastest rider of stage 1B at the first checkpoint. He reached the waypoint with a gap of 21 seconds from Pablo Quintanilla. However, Toby Price, Andrew Short, and Kevin Benavides were coming.

Just like the first checkpoint, Sanders led the way in all the remaining ones.

Meanwhile, Xavier De Soultrait and Skyler Howes were struggling in stage 1B. They were losing one and two minutes, respectively. Nacho Cornejo was struggling as well.

Sanders took the win in stage 1B. Quintanilla was second, while Matthias Walkner completed the top 3.

The top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally stage 1B in the bikes category:

1Daniel SandersGasGas Factory Team4:38:40
2Pablo QuintanillaMonster Energy Honda Team 2022+3:07
3 Matthias WalknerRed Bull KTM Factory Racing+11:06
4Adrien Van Beveren Monster Energy Yamaha Rally Team+12:46
5Mason Klein Bas Dakar KTM Racing Team +14:34

The battle was on in the cars category as well, of course. Like in every stage, the work of the co-driver is going to be crucial in finding the right path to reach the destination first.

As the cars’ race went underway too, the driver who opened stage 1B was Orlando Terranova, while the stage 1A winner Nasser Al-Attiyah decided to start tenth, one position behind Carlos Sainz.

The day was not one of the best for last year’s winner of the Dakar Rally Stephane Peterhansel as his car got damaged during the stage at km 120. He lost a lot of time, but thankfully, Peterhansel and his co-driver were uninjured.

At km 142, an issue hit another driver. This time Henk Lategan was in trouble as he got a puncture, and one of his wheels came off his car.

Nasser Al-Attiyah won stage 1B. Sebastien Loeb came home in second, while Martin Prokop was third.

The top 5 of the 2022 Dakar Rally Stage 1B in the cars category:

1Nasser Al-AttiyahToyota Gazoo Racing3:30:53
2Sebastien LoebBahrain Raid Xtreme+12:44
3Martin PropkopBenzina Orlen Team+22:39
4Lucio AlvarezOverdrive Toyota+27:42
5Vladimir VasilyevVRT Team+28:58

I am an Italian guy. I love Motorsport because of the emotions that it gives me and I grew up watching races. That's what I love!