Guanyu Zhou cruised to victory after drama for Marcus Armstrong took him out of contention for the win.

It was a great start to the second sprint race from Marcus Armstrong as he kept the lead at the first corner. The cars jostled fiercely for position, leading to a nail-biting four-wide moment at the first chicane.

Armstrong maintained his grid position at the end of the first lap, with Ralph Boschung and Guanyu Zhou also remaining in their starting positions. Meanwhile, recent champion Oscar Piastri flung his car around cars to gain positions with nothing to lose.

Zhou managed to get past Boschung and started hunting down the leading Armstrong. However, his progress was slowed when Olli Caldwell and Alessio Deledda collided at turn 9. The stricken HWA car brought out the full safety car.

While the safety car headed the field, race control handed Piastri a 5-second penalty for leading Liam Lawson off the track at the start. The Australian sat in 13th at the time.

The safety car interruption was short-lived, allowing the drivers to skirmish amongst themselves once again. It also allowed Zhou to get closer to Armstrong for a shot at the lead. Unfortunately for the Chinese driver, he didn’t get the opportunity before the safety car came out on the same lap as the restart. In a frantic fight between Juri Vips, Roy Nissany and Piastri, the three collided at turn 9 when Nissany lunged up the inside of both cars. Piastri was looped into a spin and Vips stopped further down the track. Both drivers’ days were done.

The green flag came out again on lap 11, but race leader Armstrong encountered immense disappointment immediately after the restart. A mechanical issue struck his DAMS car at the first corner, taking the New Zealander out of the lead and the race. This incident threw the race under yellow conditions again, with the virtual safety car briefly taking control this time.

Zhou inherited the lead, with Robert Shwartzman lurking behind and Boschung in third.

While Zhou slowly pulled away from Shwartzman in the lead, battles raged on in the top 10. The likes of Felipe Drugovich, Liam Lawson, and Jehan Daruvala fought hard for 5th place and provided some close racing as the sprint race began to near its close.

On the penultimate lap, Drugovich caught up to Daniel Ticktum in P4. He put in a huge effort to get past the Briton, but Ticktum held on to keep 4th place. Guanyu Zhou took a commanding win, with Shwartzman and Boschung finishing in P2 and P3 respectively.

1Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi23 LAPS
2Robert ShwartzmanPREMA+3.413
3Ralph BoschungCampos+9.772
4Daniel TicktumCarlin+14.296
5Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi+14.501
6Liam LawsonHitech GP+17.088
7Jehan DaruvalaCarlin+19.839
8Jack DoohanMP Motorsport+21.086
9Theo PourchaireART+21.942
10Bent ViscaalTrident+22.722

I am a 17-year-old motorsport fan and writer who possesses a strong passion for machines that go fast. I am from Australia but I aspire to be a journalist covering motor racing series and events all over the globe.