Lewis Hamilton has set the fastest lap time in the second free practice session of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

The Formula 1 racing action at the Yas Marina Circuit continued with FP2, which was a vital session as the weather conditions were similar to those the race will be held in on Sunday.

Lewis Hamilton went to the top of the standings straightaway, being slightly quicker than Lando Norris and Valtteri Bottas on medium tires. Max Verstappen’s first flying lap attempt was good enough for P2, but the lap time was deleted due to the track limits violation.

The drivers kept learning the new track layout and finding the limit. Bottas lost the rear of his car and made a contact with a barrier at turn 14. There was no significant damage, so he came back to his garage.

Nicholas Latifi spun at turn 13. He damaged his rear wing after a slight touch with the barrier. At the same time, Hamilton improved his lap time.

Bottas set the new fastest lap of the session on soft tires, just 0.043 seconds quicker than his teammate. Hamilton also had a run on softs – he improved his result, but it was not enough to pass Bottas. Verstappen got up to P3.

Alpine had a good pace during the session. Halfway through FP2, Ocon took over the lead, while Bottas had a big lock-up in the final sector.

Hamilton stayed out on track on soft tires and set a lap time almost three and a half tenths faster than Ocon’s.

With around 20 minutes left in the session, the drivers started their race simulation programs. After the session ended, Kimi Raikkonen had a crash in turn 14. Luckily, the Finn was okay after the incident.

Hamilton remained the fastest driver of FP2. Ocon was second in an impressive session for Alpine, while Bottas completed the top 3.

The results of the Formula 1 Abu Dhabi GP FP2:

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:23.691
2Esteban OconAlpine+0.343
3Valtteri BottasMercedes+0.392
4Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing+0.641
5Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing+0.709
6Fernando AlonsoAlpine+0.804
7Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri+0.841
8Charles LeclercFerrari+0.866
9Carlos SainzFerrari+1.153
10Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri+1.249
11Daniel RicciardoMcLaren+1.268
12Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing+1.417
13Lando NorrisMcLaren+1.462
14Sebastian VettelAston Martin+1.504
15Lance StrollAston Martin+1.694
16Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo Racing+1.749
17George RussellWilliams+1.858
18Nicholas LatifiWilliams+1.996
19Mick SchumacherHaas+2.093
20Nikita MazepinHaas+2.645

Hi everyone! My name is Anton, I am 19 years old and I am an aspiring motorsports journalist. I love motorsports for those emotions and excitement it brings.