Lewis Hamilton will start tomorrow’s Sprint Qualifying race from pole position with Max Verstappen in second and Valtteri Bottas third.

The Sprint qualifying format will be used for this weekend’s Grand Prix, meaning today’s session defined tomorrow’s starting grid for the short race. If you want to know more about how it works, click here.

The first driver to set a significant flying lap was McLaren’s Lando Norris, with a time of 1:09.537s. However, his time was quickly beaten by championship leader Max Verstappen, who lapped the circuit 0.208s faster.

The Mercedes cars went out to the track later in the session and Lewis Hamilton beat Verstappen’s time by a significant margin, with a time of 1:08.824s, more than half a second faster. Bottas then placed second by a gap of 0.307s to his teammate, with both Ferrari cars and Perez behind, dropping Verstappen down to 6th.

At the back, Alfa Romeo’s Antonio Giovinazzi set the seventh fastest lap of Q1 with both AlphaTauris behind him. The drivers eliminated were Stroll, Latifi, Russell, Schumacher, and Mazepin.

The Q2 session began with Lewis Hamilton setting the fastest lap, which was later deleted due to track limits. Verstappen followed with a time of 1:08.567 but was beaten by the Mercedes rival by 0.181s.

Fernando Alonso was the only of the Alpines to make it to Q3, with his teammate Esteban Ocon eliminated as he placed 11th.

By the end of the session, Hamilton had extended his lead to Verstappen setting a new fastest lap with a time of 1:08.068s, with his teammate Bottas behind by a gap of 0.358s, and Verstappen third.

The drivers eliminated in the session, as well as Ocon, were Vettel, Tsunoda, Raikkonen and Giovinazzi.

The final Q3 session saw Hamilton top the first round with a time of 1:08.107s, with Verstappen behind by 0.265s as he complained on the radio to be struggling with his tires.

Hamilton then improved his time, setting a new fastest lap of 1:07.934s, with Verstappen behind him by 0.438s and Bottas third by 0.535s.

Here are the qualifying results:

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:07.934
2Max VerstappenRed Bull+0.438
3Valtteri BottasMercedes+0.535
4Sergio PerezRed Bull+0.549
5Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri+0.843
6Carlos SainzFerrari+0.892
7Charles LeclercFerrari+1.026
8Lando NorrisMcLaren+1.046
9Daniel RicciardoMcLaren+1.105
10Fernando AlonsoAlpine+1.179
11Esteban OconAlpine– (1:09.189 Q2)
12Sebastian VettelAston Martin– (1:09.399 Q2)
13Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri– (1:09.483 Q2)
14Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo– (1:09.503 Q2)
15Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo– (1:10.227 Q2)
16Lance StrollAston Martin– (1:09.663 Q1)
17Nicholas LatifiWilliams– (1:09.897 Q1)
18George RussellWilliams– (1:09.953 Q1)
19Mick SchumacherHaas F1 Team– (1:10.329 Q1)
20Nikita MazepinHaas F1 Team– (1:10.589 Q1)

Founder and CEO of ASN Motorsports. From Balcarce, Argentina - I love motorsports, especially Formula 1, and through ASN I share my passion with the world.