Sergio Perez leads the Mexico City Grand Prix FP3 as Red Bull has significant advantage over Mercedes.

The qualifying day at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez kicked off with the final free practice session.

Five and a half minutes into the session, Yuki Tsunoda was the first driver to leave the garage. The young Japanese set the first competitive lap time of the day – 1:20.922. Eventually, he improved his result by over a second.

More and more drivers went on to set their lap times and Kimi Raikkonen became the new leader of the session. Shortly after, Lando Norris went a bit faster. However, the drivers struggled with slippery track surface due to oil from a support series event.

Lewis Hamilton’s first flying lap was good enough to get to the top of the standings – he was almost half a second quicker than Norris. His teammate Valtteri Bottas improved Hamilton’s time by 0.109 seconds. The Mercedes 1-2 did not stand for long as Sergio Perez beat Bottas’ result by a slight margin.

Slipstream is beneficial at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez thanks to the long start-finish straight, so the McLaren duo decided to practice it ahead of qualifying. At the same time, Charles Leclerc set the new quickest lap of the practice.

Max Verstappen finally set a lap time in the second half of the session and led the session straightaway. The Dutchman set an even quicker lap time, 0.320 seconds quicker than before.

In the final stages of the FP3, the drivers had qualifying simulations. With not so much space on the race track, there was a lot of traffic, especially in the Foro Sol section. Bottas was not satisfied with that.

Perez had an impressive lap, which was the best time of the session. Verstappen struggled during his run, so he was not able to improve the lap time. It meant that Perez remained the leader of FP3, while Verstappen and Hamilton followed him in the top 3.

The results of the Formula 1 Mexico City GP FP3:

1Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing1:17.024
2Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing+0.193
3Lewis HamiltonMercedes+0.651
4Valtteri BottasMercedes+0.684
5Carlos SainzFerrari+1.005
6Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri+1.013
7Daniel RicciardoMcLaren+1.097
8Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri+1.178
9Charles LeclercFerrari+1.189
10Lando NorrisMcLaren+1.288
11Lance StrollAston Martin+1.328
12Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo Racing+1.507
13Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing+1.532
14Sebastian VettelAston Martin+1.590
15Fernando AlonsoAlpine+1.823
16Esteban OconAlpine+1.975
17George RussellWilliams+2.187
18Mick SchumacherHaas+2.214
19Nicholas LatifiWilliams+2.289
20Nikita MazepinHaas+3.455

Hi everyone! My name is Anton, I am 19 years old and I am an aspiring motorsports journalist. I love motorsports for those emotions and excitement it brings.