Max Verstappen was four-tenths ahead of Valtteri Bottas in FP2 in Mexico City, with title rival Lewis Hamilton following in third.

The F1 field departed the garages for the second time on Friday to continue touring the dusty Mexico City GP circuit.

Max Verstappen set the pace early on the medium tires, clocking a 1:17.920 time with teammate Sergio Perez following behind. This was until Valtteri Bottas, the first of the frontrunners to change to soft tires, surpassed the Mexican to go one-tenth slower than Verstappen.

Hamilton overcame Verstappen’s time for a brief moment on soft tires, but Verstappen followed closely to climb back to the top by half a second. The time to beat was then 1:17.309. Soon after, Bottas reclaimed the 2nd position but still drifted four-tenths off Verstappen.

George Russell was unable to set a lap time after he lost gearbox function on the main straight and had to sit out for the rest of the session. Soon after, Daniel Ricciardo also encountered gearbox issues, exiting his car before being able to run on soft tires.

Gasly followed the Mercedes and Red Bull pairs in 5th for the majority of the session, often completing laps one second slower than Verstappen. Carlos Sainz in the Ferrari, however, stole the 5th position by one-tenth of a second during the late stages of FP2. Leclerc followed Gasly closely behind in 7th.

The field then took to the medium tires once again in the concluding stages to test their pace on longer stints. Perez and Verstappen demonstrated the fastest pace, both of them entering the 1:21.1 range. Meanwhile, Hamilton managed to clock a lap three-tenths slower, struggling to match Red Bull’s pace.

Verstappen remained at the top of the timing sheets on soft tires. Bottas followed the Dutchman behind, despite being quickest in FP1. The Friday practice is now complete, with Red Bull seeming to hold the upper hand.

The results of the Formula 1 Mexico City FP2:

1Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing1:17.301
2Valtteri Bottas

3Lewis HamiltonMercedes+0.509
4Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing+0.570
5Carlos SainzFerrari+1.017
6Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri+1.128
7Charles LeclercFerrari+1.304
8Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri+1.343
9Sebastian VettelAston Martin+1.380
10Fernando AlonsoAlpine+1.431
11Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo Racing+1.540
12Lando NorrisMcLaren+1.678
13Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing+1.926
14Esteban OconAlpine+2.130
15Daniel RicciardoMcLaren+2.220
16Mick SchumacherHaas+2.319
17Lance StrollAston Martin+2.429
18Nicholas LatifiWilliams+3.519
19Nikita MazepinHaas+4.280
20George RussellWilliamsNo time

I am a 17-year-old motorsport fan and writer who possesses a strong passion for machines that go fast. I am from Australia but I aspire to be a journalist covering motor racing series and events all over the globe.