RECAP: Bagnaia gets San Marino GP victory

Francisco Bagnaia gets his second MotoGP win in a row as he is victorious at the San Marino GP.

The 24-bike field was ready to go at Misano on Sunday afternoon in what was another spectacular Moto GP event.

The starting lights were out and the race got underway. The polesitter Francesco Bagnaia stayed ahead. He was followed by Jack Miller and Fabio Quartararo.

Bagnaia immediately built the gap from his teammate, while behind him Jorge Martin was attacking Quartataro for 3rd. The battle ended soon as Martin fell off his bike.

Enea Bastianini found himself in a shocking 6th position, and eventually got to 5th after passing Aleix Espargaro. A bit later, he moved up to 4th.

The race turned into a nightmare for Pramac Racing – Zarco and Martin were given a long lap penalty for cutting the chicane and gaining advantage. At the same time, Bagnaia’s lead was cemented after Miller went wide. Martin got another long lap penalty, but then went to the pits to retire.

Upfront, Quartararo overtook Miller and was in the chase for the lead. Iker Lecuona’s race was ruined due the crash as well as Alex Rins’. Bastianini kept up his incredible pace as he was setting fastest lap after fastest lap. He got close to Miller and clinched 3rd.

Tire wear proved to be Bagnaia’s disadvantage as Quartararo was closing the gap in the final stages of the race. With 2 laps to go, the Yamaha rider was less than half a second away from the leader. However, in the end, Bagnaia won another race in a close finish.

The results of the MotoGP San Marino GP:

1Francesco BagnaiaDucati Lenovo Team41:48.305
2Fabio QuartararoMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGP+0.364
3Enea BastianiniAvintia Esponsorama+4.789
4Marc MarquezRepsol Honda Team+10.245
5Joan MirTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR+10.325
6Jack MillerDucati Lenovo Team+10.469
7Pol EspargaroRepsol Honda Team+13.234
8Aleix EspargaroAprilia Racing Team Gresini+15.698
9Brad BinderRed Bull KTM Factory Racing+16.129
10Takaaki NakagamiLCR Honda IDEMITSU+18.519
11Michele PirroDucati Lenovo Team+20.373
12Johann ZarcoPramac Racing+21.066
13Maverick VinalesAprilia Racing Team Gresini+21.258
14Stefan BradlTeam Honda HRC+28.142
15Alex MarquezLCR Honda CASTROL+30.686
16Danilo PetrucciTech 3 KTM Factory Racing+32.654
17Valentino RossiPetronas Yamaha SRT+33.853
18Franco MorbidelliMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGP+36.272
19Luca MariniSKY VR46 Avintia+36.839
20Miguel OliveiraRed Bull KTM Factory Racing+37.202
21Andrea DoviziosoPetronas Yamaha SRT+42.587
23Iker LecuonaTech 3 KTM Factory RacingDNF
24Jorge MartinPramac RacingDNF
Related Posts