RECAP: Bagnaia wins intense Aragon GP

Francesco Bagnaia at the Aragon GP. Credits: Shell Motorsport (Twitter).

Francesco Bagania held off Marc Marquez for his maiden MotoGP race win.

It was a sunny Sunday afternoon at MotorLand Aragon, so it was time for the MotoGP riders to compete for the Aragon GP victory.

The polesitter Francesco Bagnaia stayed in the lead at the start and was followed by Marc Marquez and Jack Miller. The race started in the worst way possible for Alex Marquez – he fell off his bike and had to retire. The championship leader Fabio Quartararo had a nightmare start, dropping down to 7th after starting 3rd.

Petronas SRT’s Jake Dixon had a crash on lap 2. At the same time, Quartararo had to defend from Brad Binder. Up front, Marc Marquez was chasing Bagnaia. Quartararo kept struggling as he had been passed by Lecuona and Binder.

Miller lost his podium spot after going wide in the turns 16-17 section. Joan Mir capitalized on the opportunity as he eventually passed Aleix Espargaro for 3rd.

With less than 10 laps to go, Marquez was right behind Bagnaia but was still not able to make a move. While the battle for the win got heated up, Lecuona was down to 10th after making a mistake in turn 8.

Marquez got even closer to Bagnaia in the final sequence of the race and started attacking, but the Ducati rider managed to stay ahead. The Spaniard’s attacks got even more intense on the final lap, but they all were unsuccessful and Bagnaia went on to get his first MotoGP victory.

The top 10 of MotoGP Aragon GP:

1Francesco BagnaiaDucati Lenovo Team41:44.422
2Marc MarquezRepsol Honda Team+0.673
3Joan MirTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR+3.911
4Aleix EspargaroAprilia Racing Team Gresini+9.269
5Jack MillerDucati Lenovo Team+11.928
6Enea BastianiniAvintia Esponsorama+13,757
7Brad BinderRed Bull KTM Factory Racing+14.064
8Fabio QuartararoMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGP+16.575
9Jorge MartinPramac Racing+16.615
10Takaaki NakagamiLCR Honda IDEMITSU+16.904
Related Posts