Sunday saw the final qualifying session of Formula E’s Season 7. The drivers were once again divided into 4 groups and then there was the Super Pole, which determined the pole position.

Before qualifying it was clear that this season finale would be the most exciting in Formula E history, with more than half of the field still having a chance at the title. With asphalt temperature of 35 degrees Celsius and air temperature of 25 degrees Celsius, qualifying got underway.

Mitch Evans set the fastest time of 1:07.083 in group 1. He was followed by Jake Dennis, Edoardo Mortara, and Nyck de Vries within a tenth of a second. Lucas di Grassi was fifth ahead of Robin Frijns. For the championship leader de Vries, it was clear that he could well forget about making it into Super Pole.

Of the drivers in the second group, only Alex Lynn in fifth and behind him Antonio Felix da Costa and Jean-Eric Vergne were able to temporarily qualify for Super Pole. Rene Rast was only ninth, Sam Bird eleventh, and Nick Cassidy twelfth.

The track started to improve and got faster for the penultimate group. Stoffel Vandoorne set a new best time that was a full four-tenths of a second faster than Evans’ fastest lap. Oliver Rowland, Alexander Sims, and Andre Lotterer also made it into the top six, which was a good outlook for the final group.

There was one big surprise in particular in the final group. Tom Blomqvist made it into Super Pole in fifth place. Norman Nato also made it in third place, knocking Andre Lotterer and Jake Dennis out of the top 6.

Evans was the first driver on the track in Super Pole. With a time of 1:07.010, he was a little faster than in the group stage. Then it was the turn of surprise man Blomqvist. He started his lap with a faster first sector than Evans but lost his advantage as the lap progressed. He was 0.096 seconds off Evans’ time. Sims then drove almost identically to the two drivers before him and in the end, he was 0.031 seconds behind Evans. Rowland then set the best time and for the first time in Super Pole a time under 1:07.000 seconds. After him, it was actually Norman Nato’s turn, but he could not drive due to a technical defect. With a strong last sector, Stoffel Vandoorne worked his way to the top. The Belgian set the fastest time and would thus start from pole position for the final race.

The times of the top 6 after the Super Pole:

1Stoffel VandoorneMercedes 1:06.794
2Oliver RowlandNissan e.dams+0.131
3Mitch EvansJaguar +0.216
4Alex SimsMahindra Racing+0.247
5Tom BlomqvistNIO 333 +0.312
6Norman NatoVenturiNo time

I'm from Austria and I'm a motosport-fan for more than 10 years. I want to be a journalist after I finish school. I am currently working for ASN Motorsports