Despite Norman Nato winning the season finale, it was Mercedes EQ who were the real winners today, as they secure both Drivers’ and Constructors’ Championship, with Nyck de Vries being crowned champion.

The championship-deciding finale of the 2020/2021 Formula E season witnessed a 13-way championship battle heading into the race, with Mercedes EQ driver Nyck de Vries leading by a very slim margin after the previous race.

Opening lap drama unfolded as Jaguar Racing’s Mitch Evans failed to start, leading to Edoardo Mortara hitting the Kiwi, bringing out the Safety Car very early on, and eventually bringing out the red flag, narrowing the title race from 13 drivers to 11.

The race restarted behind the Safety Car in a rolling start as drivers tried to warm up their tires while conserving energy for the rest of the race. Immediately after the Safety Car got in, Jake Dennis crashed into the wall at turn 1, taking yet another title contender out of the race.

What started out as a yellow flag, became a full course yellow with the situation setting up a double Mercedes victory as de Vries looked set to win the Drivers’ title with Mercedes nabbing the Constructors’ title.

Porsche’s Pascal Wehrlein was under investigation after an alleged overtaking under the yellow flag after Dennis crashed out of the race after the restart, which warranted no penalty.

Vandoorne quickly lost the lead as drivers utilized Attack Mode to gain track positions, with Norman Nato overtaking the Belgian for first position with 30 minutes to go.

Another Safety Car was deployed as reigning champion Antonio Felix da Costa hit the wall, at Turn 2, after a wheel-to-wheel battle with the previous race’s winner Lucas di Grassi, resulting in a drive-through penalty for the latter.

After the Safety Car restart, Nato got tapped by a chasing Rowland, as the chase for the first position intensified. In the same lap, both the Mercedes cars were narrowly wiped out after going 3 cars wide in a nerve-racking battle for track position.

De Vries was at the end of many sandwiching attempts, with Wehrlein narrowly taking out the Dutchman out of the race, at the closing stages of the race.

Last lap drama unfolded as de Vries struggled to hold on, from both a power shortage and rivals, to be crowned the first world champion in Formula E, with Vanoorne securing a podium, to be the cherry on the cake.

The top 10 classification is as follows:

1Norman NatoRokit VenturiLeader
2Oliver RowlandNissan e.dams+2.270
3Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes EQ+2.837
4Andre LottererTAG Heuer Porsche+7.105
5Alexander LynnMahindra Racing+8.453
6Pascal WehrleinTAG Heuer Porsche+8.847
7Sam BirdJaguar Racing+10.473
8Nyck de VriesMercedes EQ+11.108
9Rene RastAudi Sport ABT Schaeffler+12.189
10Tom BlomqvistNio 333 Formula E+12.679

I am an Indian Motorsports fan with an unhealthy curiosity over all things quick and complicated. I obsess over Star Wars in my free time.