Robert Shwartzman dominates and wins Formula 2’s Sprint Race 1 at Silverstone as rival Guanyu Zhou spins out on lap 1.

Formula 2 went out for its first race of the weekend. It was the first of two sprint races for the category today, with Christian Lundgaard on pole. Alongside him would be Juri Vips, with Roy Nissany and Robert Shwartzman on the second row.

The lights went out, and a safety car went out immediately. Championship leader Guanyu Zhou was backward and out of the race, as was Nissany. Further up the track, a melee of spins occurred at Brooklands corner, with all continuing on. The start of the season award went to Shwartzman though, who took the lead into turn 1 after a brilliant start, with Vips second.

At the end of lap 3, the Safety Car came in, and racing would be back underway, except it was not. Alessio Deledda was out one turn into the restart, but before the Safety Car was called a grand battle ensued between Liam Lawson and Oscar Piastri, with the two going side by side through Maggots and Becketts.

At the end of lap 6, it was time to try racing again, with Shwartzman still in the lead. He had a brilliant restart again, and Piastri finally took Lawson as well. The race began to settle down into a rhythm, with Shwartzman ahead of Vips.

By the halfway stage, Vips was beginning to close the gap to the leader, with a lead battle potentially on the cards. Ticktum had damage on the front of his car, meaning he was unable to make a proper move on Lawson.

Then, another Safety Car. Guilherme Samaia was backward and in the gravel, out of the race. A few drivers pitted under the Safety Car. Jack Aitken had an unusual problem with his front tire locking, losing him time.

For the third time, we went green. Shwartzman nailed the restart again, and Ticktum looked at Lawson, but could not make the move. Richard Verschoor was the highest placed car who pitted and he was absolutely rapid, moving up to 12th by lap 16.

At the front though, Shwartzman was unchallenged, winning the race comfortably from Vips and Lundgaard. Fourth place was Felipe Drugovich, with Theo Pourchaire coming home fifth. Piastri set the quickest lap of the race and took the championship lead.

The full top ten are as follows:

1Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing42:34.300
2Juri VipsHitech GP+0.971
3Christian LundgaardART GP+2.534
4Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi+5.041
5Theo PourchaireART GP+5.594
6Oscar PiastriPREMA Racing+8.403
7Liam LawsonHitech GP+11.640
8Dan TicktumCarlin+12.365
9Marcus ArmstrongDAMS+12.795
10Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport+13.640

Journalist, writing various articles for ASN. MotoGP specialist and ASN's resident motorsports history nerd. Can generally be found screaming at stupid strategy choices while watching the tv.