The Jaguar driver wins the E-Prix ahead of Nick Cassidy. He looks back on an exciting race.

After the start, Jean-Eric Vergne came to a halt. Race control sent the safety car onto the track.

On lap 3, the safety car left the track. The race continued. The drivers were deducted 3 kWh of energy. Initially, there were no position shifts.

Then there were several rear-end collisions in the midfield. Among others, Rene Rast was affected. The Audi driver drove into the pit lane. Meanwhile, a drive-through penalty was imposed on Tom Blomqvist for using too much energy.

On lap 7 there was an incident involving Edoardo Mortara. The Venturi driver had launched an attack on Jake Dennis, leaving him little space. Both collided and Mortara ended up in the track barrier. He had to free himself again first.

A little later on lap 15, there was a brief change of leaders. Sam Bird activated his second Attack Mode and Mitch Evans slipped through. Shortly afterward, the drivers swapped positions again. The Porsche-internal duel didn’t go so smoothly. Wehrlein got stuck behind Andre Lotteer for some time.

Four laps later Mitch Evans had lost P2 due to his attack mode activation. But he didn’t stay behind Nick Cassidy for long, rather he overtook him again.

On lap 22 there was a collision between Lucas di Grassi and Sebastien Buemi. The Audi driver sent his rival into a spin. The situation was investigated by the stewards.

There was a 10-second penalty against Lucas di Grassi. He was seen as the culprit for the incident with Buemi. As a result, the ninth-placed driver dropped out of the points.

On lap 35, Mitch Evans’ negative run began. He lost ground. He had to let Nick Cassidy and Antonio Felix da Costa go. In the end, he even ran out of energy.

The lead remained unchanged. Sam Bird wins his eleventh race in Formula E. With this result, the Jaguar driver also takes the lead in the overall standings.

The times of the top-10:

1Sam BirdJaguar RacingLEADER
2Nick CassidyEnvision Virgin Racing+4.167
3Antonio Felix da CostaDS Techeetah+4.840
4Pascal WehrleinTAG HEUER Porsche+7.154
5Andre LottererTAG HEUER Porsche+7.762
6Alex SimsMahindra Racing+16.286
7Norman NatoROKiT Venturi Racing+24.983
8Robin FrijnsEnvision Virgin Racing+25.084
9Alex LynnMahindra Racing+25.405
10Maximillian GüntherBMW I Andretti+26.009

I'm from Austria and I'm a motosport-fan for more than 10 years. I want to be a journalist after I finish school. I am currently working for ASN Motorsports