In a shock result, Dennis Hauger of Prema Racing claims pole position after Ciao Collet’s track time had been deleted for Turn 10 track limits, leaving Fredrick Vesti, with whom Hauger fought for pole to start from P2.

Qualifying was chaotic as traffic was all over the Red Bull Ring, making it, quite literally a traffic paradise. However, it was not all good news as that made it quite difficult for drivers at the start to cross the 107% time.

Trident’s Jack Doohan had a last-minute save as he awkwardly maneuvers over the curbs, coming out of Turn 10. Despite this mishap however, Doohan managed to push himself within the top 10.

With 10 minutes to go, Vesti of ART Grand Prix secured provisional pole, vying his eyes on back-to-back pole positions. Following him in second place was Jak Crawford of HiTech Grand Prix.

There was drama in the pit-lane as De Gerus and Hoggard as De Gerus touches Hoggard while exiting the pit box, an incident that could have injured pit crew members nearby.

Back on the start/finish straight, Ido Cohen of Carlin Buzz Racing was stranded, bringing out the red flag and temporarily halting any hot-lap attempts. This ended Cohen’s hopes for further laps, as he sits at P30.

With 8 minutes to go, the session was restarting, sparking the race to pole position for tomorrow’s race once again. This, however, led to disapproving comments from drivers over the radio, especially Campos’ Amaury Cordeel, who called the traffic on-track a mess. Crawford also suffered, having being blocked massively due to three cars, whilst on a fast lap.

With two minutes to go, Hauger snatched provisional pole from Vesti, in a monstrously quick lap with 3 minutes to go. The final moments of the race were met with minimal rain, which seemingly had no effect on lap times.

Collet of MP Motorsport seemingly snatches a last-minute pole position, his maiden pole position in F3 ahead of Haugher and Vesti in a shock result, a result overturned as he crossed track limits at Turn 10, leaving Hauger to claim pole.

The top 10 at the end of qualifying is as follows:

1HaugerPrema Racing1:19:726
2VestiART Grand Prix+0.028
3SmolyarART Grand Prix+0.075
4ColletMP Motorsport+0.083
5CrawfordHitech Grand Prix+0.091
6NovalakTrident +0.103
7DoohanTrident +0.161
8CaldwellPrema Racing+0.174
9LeclercPrema Racing +0.249
10MartinsMP Motorsport+0.277

Founder and CEO of ASN Motorsports. From Balcarce, Argentina - I love motorsports, especially Formula 1, and through ASN I share my passion with the world.