Di Grassi wins controversial Puebla E-Prix

Image Credit: Audi Sport (Twitter).

Lucas di Grassi wins a very controversial Puebla E-Prix, though Pascal Wehrlein has led from green to checkered flag but was disqualified.

Wehrlein took pole this weekend on Mexican soil, like in 2019, and led from start to finish in the race not looking in any danger until he was under investigation for a technical infraction. He was disqualified for ‘not declaring the tires’.

The race went green with a good start for the pole man Wehrlein, while Oliver Rowland had an issue which eventually ended his race.

Nick Cassidy crashed on lap 1 at turn 8 – late braking meant a lock up and going through the marbles. He had very little grip and went sliding into the wall.

Alexander Sims pitted early to change his tires after a puncture. Once it went green again, they all managed to escape unscathed. Later we saw Jean-Eric Vergne activate his Attack Mode, upon returning to the track he found himself squeezed into the wall unintentionally by Sims.

It was not long after until Alex Lynn put Sam Bird into the wall in an almost identical race-ending incident. Audi took a 1-2 with di Grassi overly delighted with his first victory since Bern in 2019.

The Formula E Puebla E-Prix round 1 results:

Position DriverTeamGaps
1L. di GrassiAudi28 laps
2R. RastAudi+0.497
3E. MortaraVenturi+2.774
4A. SimsMahindra+10.443
5J. DennisBMW +11.473
6A. Felix da CostaDS Techeetah+11.624
7S. Vandoorne Mercedes +12.022
8M. EvansJaguar+12.351
9N. de Vries Mercedes +12.936
10A. LynnMahindra+13.154
11O. TurveyNIO 333+14.548
12M. GuentherBMW +15.257
13T. Blomqvist NIO 333+15.442
14N. NatoVenturi+15.756
15S. Sette CamaraDragon Penske+16.971
16R. FrijnsEnvision Virgin+17.942
17J. ErikssonDragon Penske+18.285
18S. BuemiNissan e.damsDSQ
19P. Wehrlein Porsche DSQ
20A. LottererPorsche DSQ
21O. RowlandNissan e.damsDSQ
22S. BirdJaguarDNF
23J.E. VergneDS TecheetahDNF
24N. CassidyEnvision VirginDNF
Related Posts