Pascal Wehrlein takes pole-position in Puebla

Pascal Wehrlein (TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team), Monaco E-Prix – Credit: Courtesy of Formula E

Pascal Wehrlein took the pole position of the Puebla E-Prix and will start the race from the front tonight thanks to a greatly improved track in Super Pole.

Group 1:

1:40 seconds before the end of the session, the six cars first took the track. In the process, it was like a race. Things got “messy” in turn 1. Frijns braked and a Jaguar overtook an opponent. Then came Antonio Felix da Costa’s first lap time of 1:24.881. He led after Group 1 ahead of Evans.

Group 2:

Again, the drivers started at 1:40 seconds remaining. All drivers were faster than the Q1 drivers. The track development was probably as big as feared. Then a new best time was set by Pascal Wehrlein. The Porsche driver took the top spot with a 1:23.505, Rowland was the new second.

Group 3:

Most drivers came onto the track with 1 minute remaining. Guenther just managed to move up to 5th place, all the other drivers were even slower. Lynn had probably made a mistake and sorted himself into 15th place.

Group 4:

With 2 minutes remaining, the last drivers of the group also took off. Norman Nato sorted himself only on 16th place after a scary stray in the last corner, that was a disappointing result. Sette Camara advanced to 9th, Eriksson was surprisingly 14th, Blomqvist had lost seven seconds on his lap. Buemi was a disappointing 21st.

Super pole:

Mortara started first. The lap time: 1:27.217. That would have earned him only 23rd place in the group stage, not a satisfactory result. The next driver was Guenther. He drove best time:1:25.095. Due to Mortara’s driving mistake, he was naturally in front. But Vergne then drove the best lap up to that point. With a 1:24.282 he took the lead. That was a clean lap. But Vergne was quickly defeated by Jake Dennis, who put together a really strong lap.

Rowland had the two best sector times but lost a precious tenth to Dennis in the last section. It was fortunately still enough! Rowland took provisional pole position with 1:23.838. Last to go was Pascal Wehrlein. The Porsche driver saved a razor-thin lead of 0.058 seconds over the finish line. The best time: 1:23.780. He thus took pole position!

The times after the Super-Pole:

1Pascal WehrleinTAGHEUER-Porsche1:23.780
2Oliver RowlandNissan e.dams+0.058
3Jake DennisBMW i Andretti+0.099
4Jean-Eric VergneDS-Techeetah+0.502
5Maximillian GuentherBMW i Andretti+1.315
6Eduardo MortaraROKiT Venturi Racing+3.437
Formula E 2021 Puebla Super Pole ranking
Related Posts