Juri Vips has won the Feature Race at Baku City Circuit, making it two Formula 2 wins in a row for him.

After two entertaining Sprint Races on Saturday, it was time for the Feature Race on the streets of Baku and it had not disappointed indeed.

The race distance was shortened by 1 lap as the initial start was aborted due to Jack Aitken and Matteo Nannini stalling on the grid. The Italian’s race was over before the lights went out.

The Sprint Race 2 winner Juri Vips had a great start and took the lead from his teammate Liam Lawson. Marcus Armstrong ended the race in the wall for the second time in a row after a contact with Dan Ticktum and Theo Pourchaire. The ART GP driver was out of the race as well. Guilherme Samaia also had issues as he had had a puncture. The Safety Car was deployed.

Shortly after, the racing action was resumed. Vips stayed in the lead, followed by Lawson and Piastri. Ticktum was given a 10-second time penalty for causing the lap 1 incident. Lawson also got the 10-second penalty for forcing Pourchaire off the track on the opening lap. Bent Viscaal was hit in the rear end by Richard Verschoor in turn 1.

The leaders changed the tires as quickly as possible. Piastri jumped Vips after the stop, but the Hitech GP driver came back to the virtual lead. Robert Shwartzman made an impressive overtake on Ralph Boschung. Another time penalty was given to Piastri – 5 seconds for unsafe release.

Vips had a moment while lapping Alessio Deledda on the start-finish straight. Obviously, the Estonian was not happy about it. Deledda was given a drive-through penalty for ignoring blue flags.

Vips came back to the on-track lead after Ticktum’s pit stop. Samaia went wide to the runoff area.

Despite the penalty, Piastri had pace in the final laps of the race and was getting closer to the leader Vips. At the same time, Ticktum made a double overtake in turn 1.

Vips stayed in front and went on to win the Feature Race after a very strong drive. Prema teammates Piastri and Shwartzman followed him on the podium.

The top 10 of the Formula 2 Feature Race in Azerbaijan:

1Juri VipsHitech GP57:08.634
2Oscar PiastriPrema Racing+6.152
3Robert ShwartzmanPrema Racing+12.623
4Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi+22.400
5Ralph BoschungCampos Racing+24.418
6Liam LawsonHitech GP+26.207
7Jehan DaruvalaCarlin+28.081
8Dan TicktumCarlin+29.801
9Christian LundgaardART GP+34.058
10Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport+36.167

Hi everyone! My name is Anton, I am 19 years old and I am an aspiring motorsports journalist. I love motorsports for those emotions and excitement it brings.