Trident’s Clément Novalak has topped the charts on the final day of Formula 3 testing at the Circuit of Jérez.

Wire by Formula 3 Media: The sun was shining on the final morning of pre-season testing, providing ideal conditions for a Qualifying simulation around the Circuit of Jerez. Carrying over their form from day 1, Trident took their now customary place at the top of the order, with Novalak leading teammate Jack Doohan.

Lapping at 1:28.677, Novalak was the first driver to post a sub-1m29s time in Jerez, breaking the previous F3 track record of 1:29.041, which had been set in cooler conditions by Doohan at the post-season test in October last year.

Novalak retained his place at the top of the order, but Doohan began to drop down, falling to fourth by the end of the morning. Vesti was the first to overtake him, with the Mercedes prodigy breaking the 1m28s barrier as well, running 0.258s off Novalak.

Also splitting the Trident duo was Fittipaldi, whose tour of 1:29.060 proved enough for P3. MP Motorsport and Alpine Academy duo Victor Martins and Caio Collet took fifth and sixth ahead of Hitech Grand Prix’s Red Bull junior Jak Crawford.

ART duo Alex Smolyar and Juan Manuel Correa took eight and ninth, while Carlin Buzz racer Jonny Edgar completed the top 10.

Morning session results:

1Clément NovalakTrident1:28.67729
2Frederik VestiART Grand Prix1:28.93535
3Enzo FittipaldiCharouz Racing System1:29.06025
4Jack Doohan Trident 1:29.06135
5Victor MartinsMP Motorsport1:29.14444
6Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1:29.19346
7Jak CrawfordHitech Grand Prix1:29.19639
8Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1:29.20730
9Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1:29.21529
10Jonny EdgarCarlin Buzz Racing1:29.21935
11Ayumu Iwasa Hitech Grand Prix 1:29.22335
12David Schumacher Trident 1:29.25828
13Matteo NanniniHWA Racelab1:29.33343
14Roman Stanek Hitech Grand Prix 1:29.33938
15Calan WilliamsJenzer Motorsport1:29.39217
16Lorenzo ColomboCampos Racing1:29.54235
17Kaylen Frederick Carlin Buzz Racing 1:29.58636
18Pierre Louis Chovet Jenzer Motorsport 1:29.61925
19Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1:29.65843
20Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1:29.66242
21Ido Choen Charouz Racing System 1:29.69733
22Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1:29.74332
23Reshar de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1:29.95923
24Dennis HaugerPREMA Racing1:30.22631
25Olli Caldwell PREMA Racing 1:30.27331
26Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1:30.40431
27Arthur Leclerc PREMA Racing 1:30.59431
28Tijmen Van der Helm MP Motorsport 1:30.62946
29Lázló Tóth Campos Racing 1:31.144 |15

In the afternoon, the majority of the field was focused on race runs and data gathering as they headed out for the final afternoon of testing before the end of the season. Hitech’s Ayumu Iwasa leaped to the top of the leaderboard within the opening half-hour.

Setting 1:29.884 in the opening stages, the Hitech racer remained on top for the duration and was the only driver to break the 1m30s barrier in the afternoon.

Clambering into second and third was PREMA duo Dennis Hauger and Olli Caldwell, who were 0.179s and 0.335s off the leading pace.

Iwasa’s Hitech teammates Crawford and Stanek completed the top five ahead of Edgar and Calan Williams.

Lorenzo Colombo made the top 10 for the first time in Jerez, beating out the quickest man from Day 1, Doohan. The final PREMA of Arthur Leclerc completed the top 10, ahead of Pierre-Louis Chovet, who ran an impressive 56 laps in the final stint.

The field will now depart Spain with just over a month to work on the cars before the second round of the season at Le Castellet, on June 25-27.

Afternoon session results:

1Ayumu IwasaHitech Grand Prix1:29.88435
2Dennis HaugerPREMA Racing1:30.06339
3Olli Caldwell PREMA Racing 1:30.21836
4Jak Crawford Hitech Grand Prix 1:30.26538
5Roman Stanek Hitech Grand Prix 1:30.52029
6Jonny EdgarCarlin Buzz Racing1:30.63232
7Calan WilliamsJenzer Motorsport1:30.72422
8Lorenzo ColomboCampos Racing1:30.92035
9Jack DoohanTrident1:30.94733
10Arthur Leclerc PREMA Racing 1:30.97438
11Pierre Louis Chovet Jenzer Motorsport 1:31.22056
12Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1:31.28034
13Oliver RasmussenHWA Racelab1:31.32537
14Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1:31.39137
15Ido Cohen Carlin Buzz Racing 1:31.43834
16Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1:31.66336
17Kaylen Frederick Carlin Buzz Racing 1:31.73633
18Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1:31.82253
19László Tóth Campos Racing 1:31.97823
20Clément Novalak Trident 1:32.54551
21Frederik VestiART Grand Prix1:32.62549
22Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1:32.67447
23David Schumacher Trident 1:32.75925
24Enzo FittipaldiCharouz Racing System1:32.86850
25Caio ColletMP Motorsport1:32.96551
26Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1:33.00248
27Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1:33.05548
28Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1:33.30847
29Tijmen Van der Helm MP Motorsport 1:33.46247

Founder and CEO of ASN Motorsports. From Balcarce, Argentina - I love motorsports, especially Formula 1, and through ASN I share my passion with the world.