Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Jeb Burton wins rain-shortened Xfinity Series race at Talladega

Jeb Burton celebrates his Xfinity Series win at Talladega. Credits: NASCAR, Getty Images.

Jeb Burton wins a rain-affected NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Talladega Superspeedway, his first win in the championship.

NASCAR Xfinity Series came back to racing action after a one-week break for the 300-mile race at Talladega Superspeedway.

The green flag was waved and the race got underway. Front row starters Austin Cindric and Daniel Hemric stayed ahead. Eventually, Hemric got in front and led the majority of the stage. Closer to the end of stage 1, there was more activity and the race lead was changing back-and-forth. In the end, it was Justin Haley, who won the opening stage. His Kaulig Racing teammate AJ Allmendinger had an incredible save at the final lap of the stage.

Jeb Burton led the field to the start of stage 2. In fact, the no.10 Kaulig Racing driver and Austin Cindriv drove side-by-side for a big part of the stage. Closer to the green-white chequered flag, Justin Haley appeared up top again and battled with Cindric for the lead. However, Noah Gragson made a big run at the final lap of the stage to win it.

Myatt Snider took the early lead in the final stage but then was passed by Austin Cindric. The green flag run was long, so the drivers had to go to the pits to get some extra fuel. Josh Berry’s blown tire forced the first actual caution of the race. After the restart, we saw Harrison and Jeb Burton battling for the lead. Then, we had the actual wreck, involving Ty Dillon, Brandon Jones, Joe Graf Jr., and Michael Annett. With moments left to the restart, heavy rain started and the race was stopped with 23 laps to go.

NASCAR briefly announced that the track had been lost and there was no way to dry it up before the sunset, so they called the race official, declaring Jeb Burton as a race winner. Austin Cindric finished second, while AJ Allmendinger completed the top 3.

The top 10 of the NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Talladega Superspeedway:

Pos.Car no.DriverTeam
1#10Jeb BurtonKaulig Racing
2#22Austin CindricTeam Penske
3#16AJ AllmendingerKaulig Racing
4#98Riley HerbstStewart-Haas Racing
5#39Ryan SiegRSS Racing
6#9Noah GragsonJR Motorsports
7#68Brandon BrownBrandonbilt Motorsports
8#11Justin HaleyKaulig Racing
9#2Myatt SniderRichard Childress Racing
10#20Harrison BurtonJoe Gibbs Racing
Related Posts