Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Dennis wins second Valencia E-Prix

Jake Dennis at the Valencia E-Prix. Courtesy of Formula E

Today the second race in Valencia went over the stage. This weekend was the first time that the race was run on a permanent track and that caused problems for the teams, especially with regard to energy management.

But the second race in Spain promised to be a very exciting one. With dry track temperatures, there was finally a normal grid start.

At the start, Jake Dennis retained his lead ahead of Alex Lynn. Oliver Turvey, Norman Nato, and Tom Blomqvist lined up behind him. When the first laps were over, it was noticeable that Alexander Lynn was clearly faster than Jake Dennis, but the latter did not want to go for an attack for the lead yet, because behind the BMW driver he could save energy in the slipstream. Behind the leading duo, it was also close. No one wanted to pass the other.

After about 10 laps the first cars started to get one of the two Attack Modes. Oliver Turvey, the first of the top group, started to use it.

One driver who really stood out in the first half of the race was Rene Rast. The Audi driver first overtook Andre Lotterer and then made up a position after Norman Nato pushed Alex Lynn. Lynn had thus dropped out of the leading group.

The first major incident occurred on the 21st lap. Stoffel Vandoorne and Sebastien Buemi collided after Buemi closed the door at Turn 9. Vandoorne hit the inside of the track barrier in the process. His race was over, and he had to retire.

With just over 10 minutes on the clock, Jake Dennis looked like the winner because he had clearly better energy management than his pursuers. And he never relinquished this lead. He made good use of a clever maneuver on the penultimate lap, when he got a radio message from his team to slow down so that the next lap would be the last and took the win from Lotterer and Lynn. Rowland was handed back because he had finished with 0% remaining energy.

The final result looked as followed:

1. Dennis (BMW)
2. Lotterer (Porsche) +1.4
3. Lynn (Mahindra) +2.4
4.Rowland (Nissan) +2.8
5. Nato (Venturi) +5.8
6. Rast (Audi) +8.1
7. Vergne (Techeetah) +8.7
8. Turvey (NIO) +11.2
9. Mortara (Venturi) +12.0
10. di Grassi (Audi) +12.4

Related Posts