Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Dennis gets pole position for second Valencia E-Prix

Antonio Felix da Costa at the Valencia E-Prix. Credit: Courtesy of Formula E

Formula E contests the second race of the double-header in Valencia this Sunday. Qualifying took place at 9 AM local time. The drivers were again divided into individual groups and competed for a place in Superpole.

Group 1

A first surprise. In the first group, Pascal Wehrlein was the fastest driver. His time of 1:33.745 was almost 1.5 seconds faster than the FP3 best time. The two Mercedes drivers de Vries and Vandoorne were surprisingly slow. They were “only” fourth and fifth. The Porsche driver was followed by Mitch Evans, Robin Frinjs, Stoffel Vandoorne, Nyck de Vries and Sam Bird.

Group 2

The second group was faster on the track than the previous one and as a result, the improvements in times continued. Jean-Eric Vergne, Alexander Sims, and Antonio Felix da Costa had all moved ahead of the previously leading Pascal Wehrlein. This was due to the track conditions getting faster. Rene Rast and Edoardo Mortara also made it into the top six after the run of the second group.

Group 3

The drivers in the third group failed to make it to the front. Oliver Rowland lined up in second place. Behind them were Sebastien Buemi and Sergio Sette Camara. Maximilian Guenther in the BMW also made it into the top 6. But his time was canceled because he had exceeded the track limits. So, he was officially shown as last. The Virgin rookie Nick Cassidy was on a very good lap, rather he made a mistake on the last lap and wasted his good time.

Group 4

Jake Dennis won the group qualifying. The six drivers in the final qualifying group all made it into the top six and thus made it into the Superpole. This was to be expected as the track conditions got better and better with each group. Jake Dennis set the fastest time and was 1.3 seconds faster than Jean-Eric Vergne’s previous fastest lap.


The big shootout for the pole position for the second Valencia race started with Norman Nato. He was followed by Oliver Turvey, Tom Blomqvist, Alexander Lynn, Andre Lotterer, and Jake Dennis.

Norman Nato started first and was 1.4 seconds faster than Jake Dennis’ best time from the group stage. He set a lap time of 1:30.489. But that lap time did not last long because Oliver Turvey in the NIO car was also faster. He undercut Nato’s time by 0.086 seconds.

The Briton was followed by a second NIO driver. Tom Blomqvist got a better lap time than his NIO teammate Oliver Turvey. He was 0.2 seconds faster.

But the track continued to get faster. Alex Lynn was more than 0.4 seconds faster than Blomqvist. Lynn had thus secured a front-row starting spot. That was because Lotterer would be moved back three positions for the race.

And it was precisely this Andre Lotterer who was another 0.3 seconds faster. But unfortunately, that did not do him much good because he could not fight for pole position because of his penalty.

And the last driver of the day took pole position. The BMW rookie Jake Dennis set the fastest time to secure the first pole position of his Formula E career. With the fastest times in all three sectors, the Briton moved into the lead.

Related Posts