Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Verschoor fastest on second day of Formula 2 testing

BARCELONA, SPAIN – APRIL 24: Richard Verschoor of Netherlands and MP Motorsport (11) drives during Day Two of Formula 2 Testing at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on April 24, 2021 in Barcelona, Spain. (Photo by David Ramos – Formula 1/Formula Motorsport Limited via Getty Images)

The Dutchman set the fastest lap on the second day of Barcelona testing. With a lap time of 1:28.280, he took the lead and could no longer be pushed off it.

This is not the first time the MP rider has been in front this season. He finished fifth in the second sprint race of the season and fourth in the feature. Yesterday he also rode into the top-10 in the first day of testing.

Ralph Boschung (Campos Racing) placed behind Verschoor. He was 0.194 seconds slower. Felipe Drugovich of UNI-Virtuosi was third.

Morning Session:

The second day of testing started with sunshine and warm temperatures. The drivers started their first stint with hard tires. Lirim Zendeli (MP) set the first best time with a time of 1:29.440 before he was pushed off the top spot by Boschung, who was just over two tenths faster.

Finally, at 10.30, the race continued on medium tires. With this, the drivers all wanted to do a good lap, but this plan was thwarted by a red flag, after Roy Nissany spun at Turn 3 and got stuck in the gravel.

When the session resumed, however, Drugovich took the lead for the time being with a first time under 1m29s.

In the meantime, Marcus Armstrong (DAMS) moved into second place and Théo Pourchaire (ART Grand Prix) followed. These two, however, were a bit passed afterwards and finished the session in 4th and 7th place. Then finally Verschoor (MP) came and got the best lap time with a time of 1:28.280.  Just before the end of the session Boschung drove a great lap and finished second, 0.194 seconds behind the leader.

The standings after the morning-session:

1Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport1:28.28051
2Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:28.47432
3Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi1:28.54445
4Marcus ArmstrongDAMS1:28.67035
5Bent ViscaalTrident1:28.67539
6Roy NissanyDAMS1:28.69836
7Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:28.76648
8Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport1:28.80141
9Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1:28.80549
10Liam LawsonHitech Grand Prix1:28.81040
11Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:28.87253
12Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi1:28.88050
13Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1:28.88432
14Gianluca PetecofCampos Racing1:28.92937
15Dan TicktumCarlin1:29.01234
16Oscar PiastriPREMA Racing1:29.05925
17Marino SatoTrident1:29.17532
18Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing1:29.26024
19Guliherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:30.12549
20David BeckmannCharouz Racing System1:30.19444
21Matteo NanniniHWA Racelab1:30.85527
22Alessio DeleddaHWA Racelab1:32.72126

Afternoon Session:

The first good time in the afternoon session was posted by Gianluca Petecof with a time of 1:30.684.

Times under 1.29min could not be expected so much in the afternoon, because the morning was taken as a qualifying simulation and the afternoon session rather for collecting data and for long runs.

Petecof remained in front,Drugovich drove to second place 0.153 seconds behind the first-placed, and Matteo Nannini (HWA RACELAB) was third.

The final session of the day also saw some interruptions and incidents:

Alessio Deledda did not catch a good session. He spun twice (turn 1 and 12). Robert Shwartzman also stopped in turn 3. But he was able to come back and finished this session on P10.

But there was also a best time for the afternoon session towards the end. David Beckmann and Guilherme Samaia (both Charouz Racing System) finished first (1:29.384) and second (1:29.510).

The standings after the afternoon-session:

1David BeckmannCharouz Racing System1:29.38437
2Guilherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:29.51036
3Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport1:29.95135
4Gianluca PetecofCampos Racing1:30.68445
5Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi1:30.83759
6Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport1:30.92833
7Matteo NanniniHWA RACELAB1:31.03340
8Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1:33.55761
9Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:34.35641
10Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing1:34.36344
11Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:34.49759
12Liam LawsonHitech Grand Prix1:34.65849
13Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:34.66851
14Bent ViscaalTrident1:34.71143
15Roy NissanyDAMS1:34.80659
16Oscar PiastriPREMA Racing1:34.90741
17Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi1:35.05255
18Marino SatoTrident1:35.19645
19Marcus ArmstrongDAMS1:35.27050
20Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1:35.27839
21Dan TicktumCarlin1:35.60739
22Alessio DeleddaHWA RACELAB1:36.17443
Related Posts