Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Quartararo wins Portuguese Grand Prix – Heartbreak for Rins, Zarco

Fabio Quartararo. Image Credits: Steve Wobser/Getty Images.

Yamaha’s Fabio Quartararo has won the Portuguese Grand Prix to take the world championship lead after Alex Rins and Johann Zarco both crashed out.

It was time for MotoGP to rumble around Portimao for the Portuguese Grand Prix. Marc Marquez was back, what could he do after 265 days away from a bike?

Fabio Quartararo was pole followed by Alex Rins and Johann Zarco.

The lights went out, and it was Zarco who led away. Rins was second, followed by Marquez until Mir fired up the inside. The top 6 chopped and changed, Marquez went down to ninth, Aleix Espargaró came from nowhere, and by lap 4 the top 20 were split by a massive five seconds.

Rins took the lead, by Zarco took it back, Mir and Quartararo were challenging too and Espargaró was up to fifth. Rins mugged Zarco again, and Quartararo made a massive move to head to second, but the power of the Ducati means he challenged at the end of the long straight.

The rolling disaster continued for Jack Miller, who crashed at turn 3 on lap 6. Oliveira followed, and the reigning race winner was also out. Quartararo took the lead on lap 9 and immediately tried to gap the Suzuki of Rins. Rins and Quartararo then exchanged the fastest laps but the positioning never changed, Quartararo first, Rins second.

Zarco took third from Mir on lap 15 and then began to chip away at the gap in front of him. Then Rins crashed. The second-placed man down and out at turn 5. Zarco was next to go down, and he would relinquish his championship lead as he was out of the race.

With three laps to go, It seemed as though Quartararo was untouchable. Bagnaia found himself second thanks to crashes, with Mir and Morbidelli battling for second too. But the race was Quartararo’s. A domination display, winning the race by almost five seconds from Francesco Bagnaia and Joan Mir. Fabio Quartararo is now the new championship leader, after winning two races on the trot.

Related Posts