Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Alonso promoted to P10 after 30-second penalty for Raikkonen

Kimi Raikkonen at the Emilia Romagna GP. Credits: Alfa Romeo Racing.

Fernando Alonso gets into the top 10 after Kimi Raikkonen is give a 30-second time penalty due to rolling start violation.

The Emilia Romagna finishing order keeps changing hours after the checkered flag has been waved. This time it is Kimi Raikkonen, who has been impacted, by the stewards’ decision. The Finn has been given a 10-second stop-and-go penalty, converted into the 30-second time penalty caused by the infringement during the rolling start after the red flag.

“On the lap before the re-start following the race suspension, Raikkonen spun at Turn 3. Art 42.6 indicates that the driver may retake his position, so long as he does so prior to the first safety car line (SC1). At first, the team instructed him to do so, but then told him to hold his position,” mentioned in the statement.

The penalty demotes Raikkonen to the 13th position, while Alpine teammates Esteban Ocon and Fernando Alonso now complete the race top 10.

Related Posts