Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

F1 re-schedules Imola GP to avoid clash with Royal funeral

IMOLA, ITALY – NOVEMBER 01: Valtteri Bottas of Finland driving the (77) Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team Mercedes W11 leads Max Verstappen of the Netherlands driving the (33) Aston Martin Red Bull Racing RB16 and Lewis Hamilton of Great Britain driving the (44) Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team Mercedes W11 on lap one during the F1 Grand Prix of Emilia Romagna at Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari on November 01, 2020 in Imola, Italy. (Photo by Dan Istitene – Formula 1/Formula 1 via Getty Images)

Formula 1 and FIA have made changes to the schedule of the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix in order not to clash with the funeral of HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.

The funeral will take place on Saturday 17th of April at 3 PM British time. Qualifying was scheduled to take place at 3 PM CET (2 PM British time), but has been moved forward to 2 PM CET (1 PM British time) to avoid the conclusion of the session to collide with the Royal ceremony.

“On Friday, FP2 will move to 1430-1530 CET and FP1 will move to 1100-1200 CET due to the rules requiring those sessions to be separated by at least two and a half hours and FP3 needing to start no less than nineteen hours after the end of FP2,” reads the statement.

A minute of silence ahead of Qualifying will be held as a mark of respect.

Total
0
Shares
Related Posts