Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Max Verstappen quickest in Bahrain GP FP2

Max Verstappen at the f1 pre-season testing in Bahrain. Credits: Red Bull Content.

Max Verstappen proves his favorite status as he has set the quickest lap of the Bahrain GP FP2.

The sun was set in Bahrain, which marked the start of the second free practice of the 2021 Formula 1 season opener at Bahrain International Circuit. The green light was out on the pit exit and a bunch of drivers went out to the race track.

The drivers wasted no time and started setting their laps. Max Verstappen set the early bencmark in the evening session in his Red Bull – 1:31.842. He was followed by Carlos Sainz in Ferrari and AlphaTauri’s Pierre Gasly.

Mercedes responded in a fitting manner as Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas eventually occupied the top two positions in the standings.

The drivers tried were searching their limits as well as perfect setups and some of them went too far. The rookie Nikita Mazepin had a spin in his Haas VF-21 car, while the most experienced driver in the F1 history Kimi Raikkonen also made a mistake and lost his front wing.

The teams started low-fuel programs, so the lap times kept falling. We saw a lot of drivers, including Lando Norris and Carlos Sainz, on top at a certain moment. Red Bull Racing and McLaren kept showing their storng form, while Mercedes proved to be much more confident comparing to the pre-season testing.

After the qualifying runs, the teams and drivers concetrated on the race simulations, so the lap times did not change.

Max Verstappen was the quickest again on the Friday evening. Lando Norris continued his strong performance in the desert, finishing 2nd. Lewis Hamilton completed the top 3 of the session.

The top 10 of the Bahrain GP Free Practice 2:

1Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing1:30.847
2Lando NorrisMcLaren+0.095
3Lewis HamiltonMercedes+0.235
4Carlos SainzScuderia Ferrari+0.280
5Valtteri BottasMercedes+0.371
6Daniel RicciardoMcLaren+0.383
7Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri+0.447
8Lance StrollAston Martin Racing+0.546
9Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri+0.636
10Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing+0.656
Related Posts