NASCAR’s stars battle it out in South Florida for the third NASCAR Cup Series race of the season.

Today’s race at Homestead started off with polesitter Denny Hamlin needing to start at the rear. Alex Bowman, Corey LaJoie, and James Davison joined Hamlin at the rear due to unapproved adjustments. This meant Joey Logano would start P1 with Christopher Bell, last week’s winner beside him in P2. Stage 1 was a surprise to many, Chris Buescher came out of nowhere, moving his way through the top ten, eventually, side by side for the lead with Brad Keselowski. Buescher was able to bring the no.17 Fastenal Ford Mustang across the finish line first, winning stage 1.

Stage 2 was much like the first, long green flag runs showing who had the strongest car. Chris Buescher, Martin Truex Jr., and William Byron ran upfront all throughout the stage. The second segment ended in a one-lap shootout, due to caution for fluid on the track from Corey LaJoie’s car. William Byron stole the stage win with help from the caution that took place with 7 laps to go.

Stage 3 was dominated by William Byron. The 23-year-old was able to capitalize from poor pit stops all race and bring his Chevrolet out front off of a restart. Byron led 102 laps tonight, his record before was 41 laps in one race. With 67 to go, Aric Almirola and Ryan Blaney ran into trouble bringing out a caution. This allowed each team to come down pit road to grab new tires and fuel to finish tonight’s race. William Byron took off on the final restart, racing his way to his second NASCAR Cup Series victory.

NASCAR heads to Las Vegas next weekend, airing on Sunday, March, 7th at 3:30 p.m. CET.

The top 20 of the race:

Pos.Car no.DriverTeam
1#24William ByronHendrick Motorsports
2#8Tyler ReddickRichard Childress Racing
3#19Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs Racing
4#5Kyle LarsonHendrick Motorsports
5#4Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas Racing
6#34Michael McDowellFront Row Motorsports
7#6Ryan NewmanRoush Fenway Racing
8#1Kurt BuschChip Ganassi Racing
9#48Alex BowmanHendrick Motorsports
10#18Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing
11#11Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs Racing
12#3Austin DillonRichard Childress Racing
13#47Ricky Stenhouse Jr.JTG Daugherty Racing
14#9Chase ElliottHendrick Motorsports
15#99 Daniel SuarezTrackhouse Racing Team
16#2Brad KeselowskiTeam Penske
17#42Ross ChastainChip Ganassi Racing
18#14Chase BriscoeStewart-Haas Racing
19 #17Chris BuescherRoush Fenway Racing
20#20Christopher BellJoe Gibbs Racing

Founder and CEO of ASN Motorsports. From Balcarce, Argentina - I love motorsports, especially Formula 1, and through ASN I share my passion with the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *