Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Denny Hamlin gets Busch Pole Award for Homestead

Credits: USA TODAY

Denny Hamlin will start the NASCAR Cup Series race at Homestead Miami on Pole.

Selection explanation by NASCAR: As NASCAR adapted to COVID-19 protocols last season, practice and qualifying were eliminated at a majority of national-series events to limit at-track time, exposure and to cut race weekend costs. To determine starting lineups, competition officials used grouped draws, added inversions for weekend doubleheaders, and eventually adopted a performance-metrics formula. That metrics format remains in place this season, drawing on performance from both individual races and season-long results.

NASCAR’s metrics formula for 2021 weighs:
– 25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race
– 25 percent: Car owner’s finishing positions from the previous race
– 35 percent: Team owner points ranking
– 15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race

Full starting lineup for Homestead Miami:

Pos.Driver No #DriverTeam
111Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs Racing
222Joey LoganoTeam Penske
320Christopher BellJoe Gibbs Racing
44Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas Racing
51Kurt BuschChip Ganassi Racing
634Michael McDowellFront Row Motorsports
72Brad KeselowskiTeam Penske
837Ryan PreeceJTG Daugherty Racing
919Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs Racing
1041Cole CusterStewart-Haas Racing
119Chase ElliottHendrick Motorsports
1217Chris BuescherRoush Fenway Racing
1348Alex BowmanHendrick Motorsports
1412Ryan BlaneyTeam Penske
1547Ricky Stenhouse Jr.JTG Daugherty Racing
1610Aric AlmirolaStewart-Haas Racing
175Kyle LarsonHendrick Motorsports
1843Erik JonesRichard Petty Motorsports
1923Bubba Wallace23XI Racing
2077Justin HaleySpire Motorsports
2199Daniel SuarezTrackhouse Racing Team
223Austin DillonRichard Childress Racing
236Ryan NewmanRoush Fenway Racing
2418Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs Racing
257Corey LaJoieSpire Motorsports
2651Cody WarePetty Ware Racing
2738Anthony AlfredoFront Row Motorsports
2853Garrett SmithleyRick Ware Racing
2915James DavisonRick Ware Racing
3014Chase BriscoeStewart-Haas Racing
3124William ByronHendrick Motorsports
3242Ross ChastainChip Ganassi Racing
3366Timmy HillMBM Motorsports
3478BJ McLeodLive Fast Motorsports
358Tyler ReddickRichard Childress Racing
3652Josh BilickiRick Ware Racing
3721Matt DiBenedettoWood Brothers Racing
3800Quin HouffStarCom Racing
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts