Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

Ty Dillon posts the fastest lap in NASCAR’s Xfinity practice

Daniel Hemric, Brandon Jones, and Ty Dillon. Credits: Xfinity Racing (Twitter).

The upcoming stars of NASCAR were able to get on track for the first time in 2021 this Friday afternoon. The NASCAR Xfinity Series had one practice to test out the cars that they prepared all offseason for, before the big race on Saturday.

Noah Gragson, driver of the no.9 Chevrolet Camaro for JR Motorsports won the race last year. Gragson was unable to post a time in the top 15 during the practice. He finished in 17th in the first and only practice. His left rear tyre going down on the backstretch brought him to the garage. Gragson and the no.9 crew look to make adjustments to improve the speed in the car and have one of the fastest cars on Saturday. Gragson, looking to defend his Daytona win last year.

Ty Dillon, former Cup Series driver had the quickest car in practice, with an average speed of 192.76 mph. This was Dillon’s first time driving the no.54 Toyota Supra for Joe Gibbs Racing. He signed a part-time contract with JGR over the offseason. All of Joe Gibbs’ other drivers placed times in the top ten, Daniel Hemric was second for the team finishing in 5th. This is a huge year for Hemric as he looks to prove his talent as he signed a full-year deal with Gibbs. Brandon Jones and Harrison Burton were the last of the Gibbs drivers, both having a speed in the top ten.

Only two Fords placed a top ten-speed. Riley Herbst and Austin Cindric finished 2nd and 3rd in Friday’s practice. Austin Cindric, last year’s Xfinity Champion will also be racing in the Daytona 500 with the Cup drivers on Sunday. Riley Herbst who raced full time in a Toyota for Joe Gibbs last year switched to Stewart-Haas Racing throughout the offseason. He will drive the no.98 Ford Mustang full-time in 2021.

NASCAR’s Xfinity Series will next be on track at 10:40 AM EST on Saturday morning. The future stars hope to post a fast lap, to start up front for their race later in the day, at 5:00 PM EST.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts