Your go-to place for high-quality motorsports coverage.

DS Automobiles announces commitment to Gen3 rules

Jean-Eric Vergne. Credits: Formula E

Long-time entrant in Formula E, DS Automobiles has become the second Formula E manufacturer to announce their commitment to the Generation 3 regulations.

The third generation of Formula E machines is set to arrive in time for the 2022-23 season, allowing for manufacturers to design faster and lighter cars for the ever-growing all-electric racing series.

DS Automobiles has recently publicised their decision to commit to these new rules, the French marque following the path of the already-applied Mahindra Racing, which confirmed their post-2021 presence in the sport last November.

“DS Automobiles was one of the first manufacturers to join Formula E when teams began developing the powertrains of their racing cars and it is inspiring to see the extensive fleet of electric vehicles they have introduced to the streets since,” remarked Formula E’s chief executive officer Jamie Reigle.

“I am delighted that Formula E’s only back-to-back double champions have secured a place on the grid for Season 9 as it reaffirms Formula E’s position as a technological proving ground and marketing platform for the world’s leading automotive manufacturers.

“We look forward to breaking new ground during the next phase of the FIA Formula E World Championship with DS Automobiles.”

DS Automobiles has been involved in Formula E competition since its second season in 2015/16, having had relations with Virgin Racing for three. The team racked up 5 wins, a further 11 podiums, and secured two third-place finishes in the standings as their personal best.

Virgin Racing and DS Automobiles then parted ways for the 2018/19 season, in time for the introduction of the second generation of Formula E cars. The French manufacturer continued their journey to success in the electric series, however, as it then partnered with the Techeetah team. This decision proved to pay off hugely for both parties, as the DS Techeetah squad went on to take two consecutive championship titles in Formula E, becoming the only team to do so in its 7-season history.

DS Techeetah will continue their partnership into the 2021 season as the team to beat in the competitive Formula E field as we edge closer to a fresh generation of electric single-seater racing in 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts